cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

DLSR Recommendations?

JudicialFury
Apprentice

Hey guys! I'm quite new to cameras, but I've been interested in photograpy since I was a small child. I'm wanting to purchase my first DSLR camera, and I'm torn between the Nikon D3000 and the Canon Rebel T1i. I know they're not new, but I'm planning on purchasing an older used camera due to my $300-or-lower budget. Which is better and why? Would you recommend any other cameras that fit my criteria? Really appreciate the help!

-Grey 

4 REPLIES 4

cicopo
Elite

Both are good entry level cameras but the best idea is to think about it as buying into a sysyem. The body is just one component in a photography system, which needs lenses & strobes (flash) etc. I suggest you think about how you want to use the camera & what lenses will be needed for now & what they'll cost, how available they are on the used market etc. Read reviews on the bodies & learn their features with the idea you may need some particular feature only 1 offers. Also note that Canon supplies free software updates to their RAW converter but I think Nikon sells theirs. (if you go Canon try very hard to find one that includes the original software disc).  

"A skill is developed through constant practice with a passion to improve, not bought."

kdd
Contributor

@JudicialFury wrote:

<snip>I'm torn between the Nikon D3000 and the Canon Rebel T1i. . . Which is better and why? Would you recommend any other cameras that fit my criteria? Really appreciate the help!</snip>

-Grey 

if you can get your hands on both of these cameras and "feel them up", my recommendation is, and i'm asked this question a lot, which ever one feels better in your hands is the one to buy, because it has been my experience that if it doesn't feel good in your hands, you wont use it.