cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Canon 6D OR Rebel T4i?

bjchitown
Contributor

I hve been taking pictures for about 30 years as a photo enthusiast. I currently own an EOS rebel 450 D, along with a 10-22 EF-S F 3.5/4.5 USM and a 70-200 EF Zoom. I  am going to Hawaii next month and have to make a decision as to what camera I will purchase. as an upgrade. I looked at the rebel 4Ti but I am also thinking about the canon 6D. I have never used a full frame before but I want to get more serious and think this could be an interesting option. I was going to get the lens kit of 24-105 EF.  I would appreciate suggestion from the other photographers out there. Thanks. Barb

30 REPLIES 30

One more thing, I meant to say I was looking at the 18-55 f/2.8. What is your opinion on that lens? Do you use one?

I've never used one but it gets good reviews for it's IQ but not the build quality.

http://www.fredmiranda.com/reviews/showproduct.php?product=303&sort=7&cat=27&page=4

I've had the 17-40L for years and it's a decent lens but in my opinion overpriced. Right now I don't own any crop style lenses. 

"A skill is developed through constant practice with a passion to improve, not bought."

I am considering the 17-40 L, thanks for sending me the link to the review I read it.

@bjchitown wrote:

One more thing, I meant to say I was looking at the 18-55 f/2.8. What is your opinion on that lens? Do you use one?

You do mean 17-55  f/2.8 don't you?

Almost bought this lens when I was a crop only shooter.  Understand the IQ is excellent and that of an L lens but the build quality is good but a bit lacking.  Overall this lens and the15-85 are the two most recommended general purpose zooms for crop bodies.

15-85 f/3.5-5.6

-  a little better range

-  a little better build quality

-  slower variable aperture

17-55 f/2.8

- a little better IQ

- constant 2.8 aperture

Can go wrong with either.  Choose between range or constant wider aperture.