cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Camera setting question

UPinFocus
Contributor
I've been asked to take pictures for a "red carpet event". The event will have an area with a backdrop set up for pictures. I just got my camera yesterday....rebel T6. What would a good setting/mode to use? Also I am brand new to the DSLR cameras. Thanks!
14 REPLIES 14

kvbarkley
VIP
VIP

Do you have an external flash? Do *not* use the built in flash, you will get mug shots, not portraits.

There are too many variables to answer. For you, just keep it on Green Square or Portrait.

UPinFocus
Contributor
Nope just a camera and the flash that came with it. I have the 55mm lens and the I believe its 300mm lense. Both came with the package.

" I have the 55mm lens and the I believe its 300mm lense. Both came with the package."

This gave me cause to suspect.  Did you happen to buy one of the 'kits' from an Amazon type store?  You got a bunch of stuff with it like filters, bag, add on lenses and other worthless items?  If, yes, return it today. You got mostly junk.  Buy the Rebel from a good know retailer like Best Buy, B&H, Adorama, Roberts and better perhaps a local camera store.

You can buy a kit specifically designed for your requirements.  These stores will have people you can ask questions about what you want to do.

EB
EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and less lenses then before!

BurnUnit
Whiz
Whiz

Oooooof! Sounds like you've really got your work cut out for you there.

Do you have access to the event area so you can experiment a bit ahead of time? Do you know the specific lighting conditions you'll be shooting under? If you don't have a suitable flash hopefully the shooting area will be well lit. You may need to shoot at higher than normal ISO which takes an extra bit of skill as well. It may be difficult to get sharp, clear images if you're shooting hand-held.