cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Best camera for outdoor and indoor (can be low lighting) for sports? New to Canon.

tjay
Apprentice

I am new to Canon and want to purchase a Canon camera that can be used for everyday pictures as well as sporting events (rodeos) that are indoor (can have low lighting) and outdoor, during the day and evening. Thanks.

8 REPLIES 8

cicopo
Elite

7D mark 2 but you will also need at least one fast lens (f 2.8 or better) for the indoor rodeo stuff.

"A skill is developed through constant practice with a passion to improve, not bought."

ScottyP
Authority
More important than the camera is the lens.

Sports have fast action so you need a fast (short duration) shutter speed to freeze the action, so there is not motion blur.

But a shutter that only stays open for a very brief fraction of a second (like 1/800th or 1/1000th of a second or even faster) needs a lot of light for enough light to get into the camera to expose the image properly in so short an amount of time. This is easy outside in the middle of the day but very tricky indoors. Even if it looks fairly bright to your eyes, your camera doesn't think so.

The best way to compensate for that short sports shutter when you aren't out in the sun is to buy a lens that opens wider than inexpensive kit lenses can. They call this a wide aperture lens. Aperture is expressed as an f/number, and a lower number is a wider aperture. A lens wide enough for indoor sports will be f/2.8 or wider. F/4 will really not cut it.

Those lenses are expensive though, so don't blow your whole budget on an expensive body and have to put lower quality lenses on it. If a 7d2 would eat your budget up, look at a 70d or even a T6i.
Scott

Canon 5d mk 4, Canon 6D, EF 70-200mm L f/2.8 IS mk2; EF 16-35 f/2.8 L mk. III; Sigma 35mm f/1.4 "Art" EF 100mm f/2.8L Macro; EF 85mm f/1.8; EF 1.4x extender mk. 3; EF 24-105 f/4 L; EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8 IS; 3x Phottix Mitros+ speedlites