Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎06-11-2013
Accepted Solution

windows 8 changes my file prefix to 001.

My old computer downloaded files in a 4 digit system just fine, windows 8 somehow will not . I dont think i changed anything but this will drive a person nuts when you are looking for a certian file that has a 4 digit file number. Having multiple files with oo1 but different dates makes it nearly impossible to search. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Product Expert
Posts: 978
Registered: ‎10-16-2012

Re: windows 8 changes my file prefix to 001.

Hi Hooperjohn,

 

Which camera do you have?

 

With which software are you transferring your images?

 

If you're using Canon software, have you updated it for Windows 8?

Did this answer your question? Please click the Accept as Solution button so that others may find the answer as well.
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎06-11-2013

Re: windows 8 changes my file prefix to 001.

Canon d7 and dip software from canon. If I try to use canon software utility it will not work on windows 8 so I just go thru the camera icon and download pictures and movies, so it looks like I have to figure out how to upgrade my canon software to windows 8 but I still use my other computer which is my main working area.
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎06-11-2013

Re: windows 8 changes my file prefix to 001.

The windows update seems to work but it did open a new can of worms to use the new image browser.  I still will use my old system (CS6)  but this new way has some promise with some of the features that look like i might be able to use.

Frequent Contributor
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎05-05-2013

Re: windows 8 changes my file prefix to 001.

What about just using a card reader instead of a direct hookup?  Computer should see the card just like a disk drive and maintain the file naming on the card.

 

Just a thought.

New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎06-11-2013

Re: windows 8 changes my file prefix to 001.

With cf cards you would not believe how many times I busted the pins plugin them in and out, but that will work also.
powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement