cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

thinking of upgrading.. need advice..

Cannon88
Contributor

hello, i have a T2i i got for christmas about a year and 3 months ago, i am thinking of upgrading to a canon 5D mark II in a few months. i am in college for commerical photography and im also getting into doing wedding photography. i am curious cause i pretty much started when i got the camera and i notice a bunch of things and i love my sister's 5D mark III but i am not that experienced yet. i am taking my time and learning every day. but i want to know if that would be the best option for me so soon. i am going to invest in better lenses and i already have a flash 430 ex ll also a tripod. i dont know if i am jumping to fast into getting a better camera so quickly..

19 REPLIES 19

HI CANON 88

ITS NO PROBLEM, SOME PEOPLE WHO ARE  LOOKING TO START TAKING UP PHOTOGRAPHY AND MOVE UP TO A DLSR ASK ADVICE , WHY ME????

AND ALWAYS THE SAME ADVICE BUY A L SERIES LENS AND A BASIC ENTRY BODY, AS THEY SAY ITS ALL ABOUT LIGHT!!!

HDCamTeam
Enthusiast

I would just add that not all "L" lenses will ALWAYS deliver the best performance. There are still some non-L lenses that performs as well, and sometimes even a bit better in some aspects.

The point is: get the camera you need, trying to avoid spending all your budget on it, and get the best lens you can according to your shooting needs or projects. Lenses don't usually loose value, cameras do.

The image quality may be almost the same (in some circunstances, of course) when using cameras with huge difference in price. But if you get the most expensive camera and put a bad lens on it, you'll never get good pictures. Optics are essential in almost all cases.

There are several factors to consider when choosing a lens to buy, but that's another story.

Cheers!

HD Cam Team
Group of photographers and filmmakers using Canon cameras for serious purposes.