cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

sports photography with the 7d.

Stew9
Apprentice

I am new to the 7d and canon all together.  I am trying to take pictures of my sons baseball games and I cannot get the bat or ball to be clear.  I want to be able to see the seams of the ball and the name on the bat.  However I have to admit I am a little intimaidated by the 7d as I am not a professional by any means but wanted to good camera, now I am wondering if I made the right choice since I am a little confused.

28 REPLIES 28

Thank you everyone for your time and great advice.  Very much appreciate it!

I love photography but when it comes to knowing how to use a camera properly I am left in the dust by these professionals above who have given you a ton of great information and suggestions.  When I got my 7d I was truly disapoointed with it and considered returning it.  I actually thought the camera was broke.  Anyway I decided to give it one last chance and applied myself in learning the camera.  I was finally successful and I have some truly great professional shots to prove it now.  I am into my second year with the camera and would not give it up for anything.  So take your time learn the camera and you will master it and be quite happy you joined the ranks of people that use great equipment.  

Jon

I guess that different sports get shot in different ways. The majority of my shooting is Tv mode & in general I think most people shooting motorsports use Tv mode with low shutter speeds & careful panning for motion blur. The same is true for prop plane aviation work.

"A skill is developed through constant practice with a passion to improve, not bought."