cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

someone please help me...driving me mad!

suffolkcanon
Contributor

Hey guys...love the forum, and hoping someone here can help me out with their own experiences.

I am a professional archaeologist in the UK, and I have just set up a mast for aerial shots on site. I want to shoot pics using the laptop with the camera remotely tethered, and downloaded the EOS utility software. I was under the impression that I could auto focus whilst also having live view on screen, but it seems that if live view is on with the viewfinder picture on the screen I cannot autofocus...only press the shutter button and get an out of focus picture??

Is there any way that I can get over this?

Really help someone can help! cheers!

10 REPLIES 10

TCampbell
Elite
Elite

Which camera do you own?

Tim Campbell
5D III, 5D IV, 60Da

sorry about that...its a canon 500D!

It has been a while since I had or used a T1i but I don't think auto focus was available in Live View.

But, if the camera is on a “mast” you can probably pre-focus it by using a smaller aperture.

You also didn't mention what lens you are using? You also didn't mention the lighting conditions you are under?

The more info you can provide, the better we can give you some suggestions.

EB
EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and less lenses then before!

jrhoffman75
Legend
Legend

This might help.

Capture#1.JPGCapture#2.JPG

John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X Mark III, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, Pixma TR8620a, LR Classic

hey guys....thanks for your replies...all very helpful indeed...the last post there was perfect...I have tried it out, and now have autofocus working perfectly!

Just one question...

If I am shooting from eight metres up and want to get, for example, an eight metre round house fully in focus how can I make sure the focus is spread across the whole shot, not just in the selected box in live view?

cheers!

"... not just in the selected box in live view?"