cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

ready for a new camera

okiebirdnerd
Contributor

Hi,

I’ve been using the T3i with an EF 100-400 lens for about four years now. I’ve gotten a lot of good service out of it without any problems. I mainly photograph birds but never been happy with my BIF shots in comparison to friends that own the 7D & EF 100-400 lens. What I’ve mainly noticed on my shots is the whole bird is never 100% in focus. And when standing next to friends with the 7D, they are able to get the whole bird in focus. I have tried multiple setting over the years and the only thing I can come up with is the 7D has 19 focusing points and is able to have all the BIF in focus.( or is there another setting the 7D has I’m unaware of? ) I would love to be able to use a 7D but I have lost my grip and can’t even carry my puny T3I around as long I use to. I have noticed that after a few hours I’m starting to quiver and it is noticeable in my photos. Canon announced the new EOS 750 & EOS 760. Both sound like they might be my answer since they have 19 focusing points like the 7D instead of the 9 like my T3I. Camera weight is the main factor in deciding on a new camera along with using my EF 100-400 lens.

I would really appreciate any camera suggestions and your feelings about the new 750D or 760D. When might these cameras become available for purchase? I’m sure I’ll want to wait until I can hear the good the bad and the ugly before buying. Thanks in advance for your time.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

I am going to offer another suggestion.  Buy the Rebel T6s and rent the EF 400mm f5.6 L for a week. LensRentals <--- click here.     That will tell you if you will truly miss the IS feature.  I am sure the lighter weight is going to help you, in your situation, more than IS does.

EB
EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and less lenses then before!

View solution in original post

18 REPLIES 18

ScottyP
Authority