Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎11-20-2017

"There is no software for the OS Version you selected."

[ Edited ]

I just bought a brand new computer and Canon is telling me there is no driver available for my new computer?! 

What do I do now? Does anyone know? How do I upload my files from my camera onto my computer hard drive? What am I missing here?

My camera is the 5D Mark III and my computer is the iMac Retina 5K 2017, OS High Sierra vs 10.13.

Thank you in advance for any assistance. If there is another thread discussing this, please point me onto that thread, thanks so much.

Honored Contributor
Posts: 5,810
Registered: ‎11-13-2012

Re: "There is no software for the OS Version you selected."

There's no driver available because you don’t need a driver. Just connect your camera and open the Image Capture app to download your images. 

 

If you want to use DPP or EU download the files in the El Capitan dropdown. 

John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X, Rebel T5i, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, MX472, LRCC Classic
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎11-20-2017

Re: "There is no software for the OS Version you selected."

Thank you but that's the issue. I did connect the camera but the computer is not detecting it. Do you think it's the USB connection? I understand there can be a conflict between 2.0 and 3.0 but I am not sure in this case.

Honored Contributor
Posts: 5,810
Registered: ‎11-13-2012

Re: "There is no software for the OS Version you selected."

Hi. I have a 1D X (which I believe is same vintage as your 5D Mark III) and a MacBook Air with High Sierra and USB-3 ports.

 

Connection works fine:

 

Screen Shot 2017-11-21 at 8.18.46 AM.jpg

 

Maybe the Apple Store could help?

 

John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X, Rebel T5i, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, MX472, LRCC Classic
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎11-20-2017

Re: "There is no software for the OS Version you selected."

Thank you John! I do feel a bit foolish that I did not look there before posting! I was previously accustomed to connecting my camera with my old Mac and the Canon software would simply open immediately. Learning curve....

Thanks again for your help.

Honored Contributor
Posts: 5,810
Registered: ‎11-13-2012

Re: "There is no software for the OS Version you selected."

Glad to help. You can configure EOS Utility to open automatically. Load the software and the toolbar icon gives you the choice.

John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X, Rebel T5i, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, MX472, LRCC Classic
Highlighted
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 3,815
Registered: ‎06-11-2013

Re: "There is no software for the OS Version you selected."

If you don't see the software downloads for macOS High Sierra 10.13, then just download the software for macOS Sierra 10.12.

 

This happens every time Apple updates the OS.  The version that was "current" when Canon released their camera software was Sierra so you find it in the Sierra section.  That software still runs on High Sierra (every Canon app that I want to run on my High Sierra macs works without issue.)

 

As Canon releases updates to these applications, you'll see them starting to appear in the High Sierra section.

 

Tim Campbell
5D III, 5D IV, 60Da
Frequent Contributor
Posts: 44
Registered: ‎12-14-2012

Re: "There is no software for the OS Version you selected."

Tim just nailed it!

 

I was trying to find the latest version of DPP and other Canon software for my 6D and came up with the same error message.  The Canon Software Website does not include listings for High Sierra, only Sierra and before.  If you click on the OS selected and pick “Sierra”, you’ll see a list of all software available for Sierra which is the latest available from Canon.  At some point they will test their releases against High Sierra and include in the website.  At some point!  :-)

 

Jim in Boulder

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎11-20-2017

Re: "There is no software for the OS Version you selected."

Yeah, I was having a major panic attack for no reason I guess! Next, organize the 3000+ files I just uploaded... ugh, they all uploaded individually and not by dated folders. Once again, need to start over with everything. Getting them copied to an external drive then the cloud, then just removing them off here asap.

 

Thanks guys, for suggesting Sierra in lieu of High Sierra!

powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement