Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Highlighted
Frequent Contributor
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎05-31-2013
Accepted Solution

how do I to find 5d2 shutter count

What reliable software can I use to fine the shutter count on a 5D2?

Highlighted
VIP
Posts: 12,252
Registered: ‎12-07-2012

Re: how do I to find 5d2 shutter count

EOS Count.

EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and several lenses!
Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-28-2015

Re: how do I to find 5d2 shutter count

Let me know if that works for you, as i tried it this morning and it tried to change my IE and added a bunch of spam crap. When I uninstalled it my IE crashed and I had to restore my computer.
Highlighted
Frequent Contributor
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎05-31-2013

Re: how do I to find 5d2 shutter count

Thanks for the warning Tony.

Anyone else had a problem with EOS Count?

Highlighted
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 3,831
Registered: ‎06-11-2013

Re: how do I to find 5d2 shutter count

There's nothing in the camera or any Canon-supplied utility that reveals this.  But there are a handful of utilities that claim to be able to get this info out of the camera.  I think I found more utilities for Windows -- but I have a Mac.

 

So I found a utility that does this called (oddly enough) "Shutter Count".  Not free... but it is cheap.  I see it's currently $2.99 (I think it may have been $1.99 when I bought it.)  I does work with the 5D II.

 

Here's a link: http://www.direstudio.com/shuttercount

 

 

Tim Campbell
5D III, 5D IV, 60Da
Highlighted
VIP
Posts: 12,252
Registered: ‎12-07-2012

Re: how do I to find 5d2 shutter count

I have never had an issue with EOS Count.  But I have not used it recently.

EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and several lenses!
Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-28-2015

Re: how do I to find 5d2 shutter count

I downloaded Shuttercount yesterday 2/28/2015


@TCampbell wrote:

There's nothing in the camera or any Canon-supplied utility that reveals this.  But there are a handful of utilities that claim to be able to get this info out of the camera.  I think I found more utilities for Windows -- but I have a Mac.

 

So I found a utility that does this called (oddly enough) "Shutter Count".  Not free... but it is cheap.  I see it's currently $2.99 (I think it may have been $1.99 when I bought it.)  I does work with the 5D II.

 

Here's a link: http://www.direstudio.com/shuttercount

 

 



I downloaded it yesterday and it worked fine on my 5D mk3  and 7D.

Cheers

Tony

Highlighted
Reputable Contributor
Posts: 809
Registered: ‎11-14-2012

Re: how do I to find 5d2 shutter count

Magic Lantern.

DCS 3c, DCS 520, D30, D60, 1Ds, 300D, 30D, 1000D IR, 7D, 6D, 6D, M5
15-45/3.5-6.3 IS, 16-35/4 IS, 22/2, 24/1.4 II, 24-105/4 IS, 50/1.4, 85/1.8, 100/2.8, 70-200/2.8 IS II, 300/2.8 IS
Highlighted
Frequent Contributor
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎05-31-2013

Re: how do I to find 5d2 shutter count

All,

Many thanks for the replies to my question.

Have downloaded and activated Shutter Count.

Works with my 7d and 5D2

powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement