cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

copying auto settings canon 70d

db333
Apprentice

I'm using my 70D for videos and I'm happy with the look auto provides. But I need to change the microphone settings because I'm using an external mic. But as a relative beginner I can't get the manual video look to look anything like as good as the auto one. Is there any way to find all the settings used on the auto and copy them across. For video what are the areas I'm looking at:

aperture

iso

white balance? 

anything else?

Is there a way to see what settings for these are currently being used when I'm in auto mode?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

@kvbarkley wrote:

I found that while the info button gives a lot of info on the video, it does not include what the OP wants like exposure info.

No, but he could still access the exposure information from a sample still image of the same scene by pressing the INFO button while in playback mode. That was the method I was trying to describe above.

Screenshot(7).png

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7

BurnUnit
Whiz
Whiz

Shoot a few still images of the scene that you want to video. You might want to use auto exposure in T/V mode and keep the shutter speed around 1/60 second. If you get a suitable exposure from the still shot, transfer the settings to the video using manual exposure settings. You will want to include the W/B setting as well. Consider the shutter speed and aperture to be a close starting point. You may still want/need to do some fine tuning or make an ISO adjustment.

Tim
Authority

Hello db333,