Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-02-2016
Accepted Solution

canon 6D noise long exp with high speed iso

Hi,

 

i will like to know the 6D can i tune on the long exp noise with high speed iso together with raw ?

 

Thank you.

VIP
Posts: 8,509
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: canon 6D noise long exp with high speed iso

Yes, you can.  I recommend setting your camera to manual, "M", mode to do it, though. 

 

However, you will find it easier to do initially if you set the camera to Aperture Priority, "Av", mode.  Dial in settings for ISO and f/stop, and let the camera calculate the length of th exposure.  This can get you into the ballpark of where you want to be.  You would then change to Manual mode and fine tune the final composed shot.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 3,816
Registered: ‎06-11-2013

Re: canon 6D noise long exp with high speed iso

Keep in mind how long exposure noise reduction works... 

 

Suppose you take a 30 second exposure.  When noise-reduction is used, the camera will take the normal exposure (the "light" frame), then immediately follow with a 2nd exposure but will keep the shutter closed (the "dark" frame).   This allows the sensor to build up "noise" for a dark-frame in conditions identical to your light-frame.  The dark frame noise is then subtracted from the light frame to produce a new light frame with less noise than you would otherwise have had... but it will take 1 minute to shoot a 30 second exposure (because it has to shoot 2 exposures.)

 

This sometimes makes people think their camera has locked up... when in reality it's just busy taking the "dark" frame.

 

 

Tim Campbell
5D III, 5D IV, 60Da
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-02-2016

Re: canon 6D noise long exp with high speed iso

Thannk you for all reply, 

 

if i tune on both long exp noise and high iso speed, when i shootong night long exp, do i need to tune off the high iso speed ? and indoor shoot for high iso speed, so need to tune off the long noise exp ?

Tha you.

 

Best Regards.

Johnchong

VIP
Posts: 11,533
Registered: ‎12-07-2012

Re: canon 6D noise long exp with high speed iso

Or you can use the tried and true HDR method.

EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and several lenses!
Reputable Contributor
Posts: 760
Registered: ‎11-14-2012

Re: canon 6D noise long exp with high speed iso

[ Edited ]

If you mean High speed ISO NR you don´t need to use it together with raw. What I know it doesn´t matter if you have it turned on or off. Only if you shoot jpg.

With raw, you can always turn on or off High speed ISO NR in Canon Digital Photo Professional or noise reduction in another raw converter.

dppv46.jpg

 

Like TCampbell wrote Long exp. noise reduction will take two images and remove all hot and dead pixels. Raw converters often have hot pixel remover.

 

Another thing to do to get less noise is to keep your camera sensor cold. This is in Swedish, but you will understand the temperature in Celsius. Live view will heat the sensor, so don´t use Live view for minutes before taking a longer exposure. You can check the temperature inside your camera with an exif viewer. I don´t know where in the camera the temperature is measured.

VIP
Posts: 11,533
Registered: ‎12-07-2012

Re: canon 6D noise long exp with high speed iso

"Another thing to do to get less noise is to keep your camera sensor cold"

 

Yes and old trick.  We used to freeze film to make it more sensitive.

EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and several lenses!
powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement