cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

anyone had auto focus quit completely on 1D X after updating from firmware 2.0.3 to 2.0.7

RustyB
Contributor

my 1D X just arrived at Newport News Factory Service Center today for diagnosis.

camera was working great with All my lenses (Canon: eos 50mm f1.8; eos 28-135mm is usm; 100mm f2.8 L Macro; 24-70mm f2.8L usm; 70-200mm f2.8L IS usm; 100-400mm f4.5-5.6L IS usm), but after firmware update from v 2.0.3 to version 2.0.7, camera will no longer auto focus, gives me error 1 , no communication to lense, clean contacts.

All lenses still work fine with other Canon cameras i have tried them with, went ahead and cleaned contacts, spoke with Canon Service, tried clearing all camera settings and custom settings and removing both main and c-mos batteries with no change.

only </= 14000 shutter events, i am an amateur landscape photographer, take extremely great care of all my equipment, i have owned 4 other Canon Cameras in the past that had no issues, and the friends that i passed these onto are having no issues with them either, i passed on my care and usage suggestions when they remarked cameras looked like NEW.

part of what i do for a fulltime job, is update firmware/ drivers in electronic modules for communication, and building control systems, i on occassssions see certain boards not accept the newest driver, and i am able to rvert back to an older driver to restore communication and control. The Canon literature states this option is not available.

anyone else have this issue pop up, or have a resolution?

appreciate feedback, waiting for news from factory, hoping they may fix this as good will....

9 REPLIES 9

Peter
Authority
Authority
Try downgrade through Eos Utility.

thanks for replying,

i am waiting on response from Canon Factory Center.