cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What lense

Samuel_
Contributor

I have a canon 60d and I need to get a wide lense that's good for filming and photography and help ?

Also with a good zoom .

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

"I need something that shows a wide angle etc like I said !"

Sam the Man, Smiley Happy

Good and cheap are rarely used in the same sentence.  Pick one!  My choice for you would be the Canon EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8 IS USM Lens.  You said you are on a 60D?  That will be a great lens for you but it is pricey so you might want to check used sources or the refurb store.

Most of the time your 50mm prime is a poor choice as it is a specialized lens compared to a zoom.  There are few reasons to choose a prime lens anymore.

I don't do video. I am a stills photographer but the Canon EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8 IS USM Lens should fill the video need quite well.

It will do landscapes and general photography with the best of them.  Win, win!

EB
EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and less lenses then before!

View solution in original post

27 REPLIES 27

JoshPhotography
Contributor

I would always recommend the Sigma 17-70 F2.8-4 OS. It was the lens I bought with my 60D and I still use it for walk about shooting instead of a 24-70 F2.8 just because of size. Also, great macro functionality...

The Sigma 17-70mm F2.8-4 DC Macro OS HSM is designed as an upgrade to the ef-s 18-55mm kit lens that come with many Rebels.  Do you really think it is an acceptable substitute for the ef 24-70mm f2.8L II ?  I am just curious about your thoughts.

EB

@ebiggs1 wrote:

The Sigma 17-70mm F2.8-4 DC Macro OS HSM is designed as an upgrade to the ef-s 18-55mm kit lens that come with many Rebels.  Do you really think it is an acceptable substitute for the ef 24-70mm f2.8L II ?  I am just curious about your thoughts.