cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What lense

Samuel_
Contributor

I have a canon 60d and I need to get a wide lense that's good for filming and photography and help ?

Also with a good zoom .

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

"I need something that shows a wide angle etc like I said !"

Sam the Man, Smiley Happy

Good and cheap are rarely used in the same sentence.  Pick one!  My choice for you would be the Canon EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8 IS USM Lens.  You said you are on a 60D?  That will be a great lens for you but it is pricey so you might want to check used sources or the refurb store.

Most of the time your 50mm prime is a poor choice as it is a specialized lens compared to a zoom.  There are few reasons to choose a prime lens anymore.

I don't do video. I am a stills photographer but the Canon EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8 IS USM Lens should fill the video need quite well.

It will do landscapes and general photography with the best of them.  Win, win!

EB
EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and less lenses then before!

View solution in original post

27 REPLIES 27

Bob from Boston,

My take on the Tokina AT-X 16-28mm f/2.8 Pro FX Lens is most of the next level zoom lens is usually a 24-70mm.  So in that respect 35mm is somewhat redundant?  I really struggled with the idea of buying a Tokina. They have such a poor record in QC and CS.  Get a good one and I guess it is a good one!  This Tokina seems well built and has a decent warranty if it is to be honored?

Having never owned a ef 16-35mm I am not the best person to ask how good the Tokina compares.  But I do have friends with them.  They have told me the Tokona is as good.  I do have the ef 17-40mm f4 which I love.  The Tokina matches pretty well against it so there you are.