cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What does the 7D offer that I can't get from the T3i?

Skile
Apprentice
T3i,7D
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

@Skile wrote:
Thanks for such a detailed answer to my question. I currently have a T3i and was wondering if I would get much out of upgrading at this time. It sounds like I would do fine to stay with what I have for the time being. I am just a casual photographer with strong interest in getting much better. I can hone my skills and upgrade when the time is right.. Thanks again.

If you'd "get much out" really asks the question "What do you need?". 

If you're asking what could the 7D bring to your photography, I'd list things like the exceptionally bright and largeviewfinder which includes a pentaprism (rather than the pentamirror). I think the time that it takes to compose and shoot an image is determined in part by how easy it is to collect the information, using the photographer's sight, necessary to complete the process. The 7D's bright viewfinder ranks much higher in my opinion of important features than continuous shutter speed or exceptional low light performance, for example. I'm also of the belief that a magnesium alloy body is a strong benefit. I often take my camera when I ski and my antics on skis have included "close encounters" with trees. LOL 

The bottom line is that what is right for you is important to consider. If you're improving as a photographer, keep the camera you have until your photography demands an upgrade, then research to find which cameras can satisfy that need. Good luck.

View solution in original post

14 REPLIES 14

cale_kat
Mentor

The 7D passes the tree test. The T3i doesn't. That's a start.

Skirball
Authority