cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Weird "artifact" in 70D photos.

ckjohnson72
Contributor

Hello everyone,

Let me start by saying I'm new to the group. I'm not a pro photographer by any means, but I don't shoot in auto mode. I originally bought my 70D for astrophotography, but have used it for everything and love this camera.

I was shooting photos of my stepson's graduation yesterday, and noticed a weird light artifact across a few photos. When I got home, I noticed it was in a number of the photos. Not all, but in about 50% - 75% of the photos. I focused the camera on the wall, and shot a photo of just the plain brown wall and there is clearly a trapezoid shape of light in my photos. I switched out lenses, and the shape is still there. I changed out batteries, and it is still there. I even thought that maybe I had accidentally switched a setting somewhere, so I reset the camera to factory defaults and it is still there. 

I'm concerned that something is wrong with my sensor.

Any suggestions?

I will post the photos here in a few hours, I left the card at home. 

16 REPLIES 16

We'll have to see it; but from your description, it's more likely a broken or sticky shutter than the sensor.

Bob
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA

20160523111132_IMG_9999.JPG

@ckjohnson72 wrote:

20160523111132_IMG_9999.JPG

Yep, shutter failure.

TTMartin
Authority
Authority

@ckjohnson72 wrote: