cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Want to upgrade to dslr to take horse racing action photos, need recommendations

ilzho
Rising Star

Hello:

For years I have had my Powershot G10 to take general pictures and it has worked well.

I am a huge fan of horse racing and I'm lucky to have a track, very close by. 

I want to be able to 'freeze' a horse and jockey racing among other types of photos.

My G10 cannot take these kind of pictures 'well'.

I am not looking to become a professional as I am not an expert at all, but I would love to have some proper equipment to take realitive good photos of horses racing/Equine. Yes this takes a lot of knowledge and practice/experience. All of which I do not have enough of.

I am looking to stay in the Canon family and would like some recommendations on a good DSLR camera and some lenses.

My budget is about $1500.

Any help and guidance is apprecaited.

Thank you,

David

79 REPLIES 79

cicopo
Elite

Depending on how far you will be from the horses there's a good chance a 7D mark 2 & 18-135 Kit lens may be one to look at.

"A skill is developed through constant practice with a passion to improve, not bought."

Thank you. I'll look into it.

The track is never crowded so I can get along the railing (spectator side) along the final stretch or last turn.......

Of course really close along the rails for the paddock, where they saddle/riders up....

@ilzho wrote:

Thank you. I'll look into it.

The track is never crowded so I can get along the railing (spectator side) along the final stretch or last turn.......

Of course really close along the rails for the paddock, where they saddle/riders up....

A 7D Mark II may be just outside of your budget.  By the time you buy the usual accessories, like a protective lens filter, a bag, flash, and maybe a tripod/head kit, you could be over budget before you even buy a lens.