cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Want to upgrade to dslr to take horse racing action photos, need recommendations

ilzho
Rising Star

Hello:

For years I have had my Powershot G10 to take general pictures and it has worked well.

I am a huge fan of horse racing and I'm lucky to have a track, very close by. 

I want to be able to 'freeze' a horse and jockey racing among other types of photos.

My G10 cannot take these kind of pictures 'well'.

I am not looking to become a professional as I am not an expert at all, but I would love to have some proper equipment to take realitive good photos of horses racing/Equine. Yes this takes a lot of knowledge and practice/experience. All of which I do not have enough of.

I am looking to stay in the Canon family and would like some recommendations on a good DSLR camera and some lenses.

My budget is about $1500.

Any help and guidance is apprecaited.

Thank you,

David

79 REPLIES 79

ilzho
Rising Star
The mark II price is the same for me, but it's the body only.
So I'll get the 7d mark II, EF 70-200mm f4/L USM.

Now for the daily 'touristy' lens you mentioned the EF-S 17- 55mm f/2.8 IS & EF 24-105mm f/4L IS.

Why are these lens more expensive than the EF 70-200mm ?
Is it the IS?
Thanks as always.

@ilzho wrote:

Now for the daily 'touristy' lens you mentioned the EF-S 17- 55mm f/2.8 IS & EF 24-105mm f/4L IS.

Is it the IS?
Thanks as always.

Excellent choice.  The 7D Mark II and the EF 70-200mm f/4L USM is a versatile combo for outdoor shooting.  The 70mm short end will be a little long for indoor use, though, but that is why there is such a wide variety of lenses out there.  No one lens can excel at every photography scenario.