cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Want to upgrade to dslr to take horse racing action photos, need recommendations

ilzho
Rising Star

Hello:

For years I have had my Powershot G10 to take general pictures and it has worked well.

I am a huge fan of horse racing and I'm lucky to have a track, very close by. 

I want to be able to 'freeze' a horse and jockey racing among other types of photos.

My G10 cannot take these kind of pictures 'well'.

I am not looking to become a professional as I am not an expert at all, but I would love to have some proper equipment to take realitive good photos of horses racing/Equine. Yes this takes a lot of knowledge and practice/experience. All of which I do not have enough of.

I am looking to stay in the Canon family and would like some recommendations on a good DSLR camera and some lenses.

My budget is about $1500.

Any help and guidance is apprecaited.

Thank you,

David

79 REPLIES 79

In looking at ebay on the canon ef 70-200mm f/4L USM lens, they seem to be from $300+.\If that is the case, what would be the next step up in a lens? Or a 'must have' lens with the 7D Mark II.

Thanks again for all of the advice.

@ilzho wrote:

In looking at ebay on the canon ef 70-200mm f/4L USM lens, they seem to be from $300+.\If that is the case, what would be the next step up in a lens? Or a 'must have' lens with the 7D Mark II.

Ebay?   No comment.  Do a search on this forum for "ebay."  Look at how many people have bought stuff from ebay or Amazon, and it didn't work properly. 

The only used gear that I would be inclined to buy would come from the Canon refurbished store, and even then, I'm not sure if "used" is the right word to describe what they sell.

As far as "next step up" goes, what is the first step, or lens, and with which camera?  The 7D Mark II is a great camera, but your budget doesn't allow for that camera and a quality lens.