cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Upgrading, any recommendations?

photocat93
Contributor

So, I've been using my little entry-level 450d now for the last 9 years. I prefered to just invest in lenses rather than new bodies and thus far it has served me well.

However, I'm really starting to notice it struggle recently; had some auto focus issues and the quality is really starting to show. I'm also using it for some part-time photography jobs at the moment which has really made the decision to upgrade important.

Any recommendations?

5d mark IV would be a dream but it's a little out of my price range. I've looked at two full frames: the 6d and the 5d mark iii and even looked over the 80d but I can't make a decision.

Before you ask, yes I shoot in manual and yes I have invested in EF lenses.

Thanks! 🙂 

14 REPLIES 14

I've heard great things about the 5d mark iii. I guess for me as I do photography mostly part time it's whether I could justify the price for the return I'd get.

...though I haven't completely taken the 5d mark iii off my radar yet! XD

Sound advice though, Robertthefat, thank you!

Suraj-Sun
Apprentice

Check out the 5D Mark iii

photocat93
Contributor
Straight to the point! 😄 Thank you ebiggs1!

ScottyP
Authority

Picking a camera body is hard if it will be your only camera. It forces you to really decide what matters most to your particular uses, and there will be a tradeoff required. 

The 7d2 is a great rugged tank with a super complex autofocus. If my use was hiking and rock climbing, in the rain, and I had a tendency to drop my camera or bang it on rocks I might need that durability and weather sealing. Or if my use was a lot of fast sports outdoors in daylight I might gravitate towards 7d for that.  If that was my general shooting style, but I was a couple notches less hard core, I'd probably go for the 80d to save some money for lenses.