cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Upgrade to a used 5DS or 5D Mark III

OniSpirit
Apprentice

Hello, I am new to this commuty and I am looking for some help. I have a barely used Canon 5D mark II. I have somewhere between 9,500 and 10,000 photos on my 5D Mark II, that I've bought refurb from Canon, Camera works great, since all I've used it for is personal use, not used for an income. However I plan on using my camera to make commercial and advertisement my coffee shop and possibly for other small businesses. I do plan on making large prints to hang from the business walls and ceiling. What I am interested in knowing what is more worthwhile in my situation. Sell my 5D Mark II for a Mark III or 5DS (most liekly used) and which one to choose? Or should I keep my 5D Mark II and invest in some better lenses. I currently have 50mm 1.4 USM, 24-70 F/2.8L IS USM, and 70-200 F/2.8L IS (not the II). Also if I where upgrade my lens, what should I get, I do some portraits, but mostly indoor and nightime city shoots, I am a fan of fast and wide angle, ultra wide angles. Thank You.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

OniSpirit wrote:

Hmm, never really thoought out how large. It would most likely be in the ballpark of 5ft across horizontally.

When you print a picture that large, it starts to depend on how it will be viewed. If the viewer will be up close, you need the 5Ds (at least). If the viewer will be thirty feet away, it probably doesn't matter.

Something that may not apply in this case, but is true in general: These days many venues (offices, hospital waiting rooms, etc.) contain pictures that are too large for the space they occupy. If you can't stand back far enough to view it properly, it's too large.

Bob
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend

When you say "large prints", how large are you talking about?

--------------------------------------------------------