cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Trying to learn how to post process - looking for advice

mangurian
Enthusiast

I am a relative newbie to a decent camera. I bought a cheapo zoom and took some shots this morning. I have two original RAWS on my Google Drive together with some crops (link below).

I haven't a clue on how to post process. Do I just make them look good to me ?
Maybe my 77 year old eyes don't see things the way others do. I would like them to look good to my daughters and friends.

I think "look good to me" must be the answer, but I really don't know what to do first.
I would appreciate some guidance or examples.  Thanks in advance,

I have PaintShop Pro 2018, Photoshop CS2, and Canon's DPP4, AfterShot does not support my camera.

Link To Photos

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

@mangurian wrote:
 I get good results using first DPP4 and then feeding those results into PaintShop Pro. In PSP

That's exactly the procedure I have been using for a few years now, it works for me.

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7

Tronhard
Elite
Elite

@mangurian wrote:

I am a relative newbie to a decent camera. I bought a cheapo zoom and took some shots this morning. I have two original RAWS on my Google Drive together with some crops (link below).

I haven't a clue on how to post process. Do I just make them look good to me ?
Maybe my 77 year old eyes don't see things the way others do. I would like them to look good to my daughters and friends.

I think "look good to me" must be the answer, but I really don't know what to do first.
I would appreciate some guidance or examples.  Thanks in advance,

I have PaintShop Pro 2018, Photoshop CS2, and Canon's DPP4, AfterShot does not support my camera.

Link To Photos

Congratulation to making the move into more serious photography!  I hope you will find it a stimulating and rewarding pasttime.  I must say you have taken some excellent close-up images there.