Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-12-2017

Transferring Photos from Mac to 5d mkii

Hi Smiley Happy

 

Does anyone know how to transfer photos from a Mac to the 5d MKii please? I've made some aspect ratio templates that I would like to open on the 5d and then mask off the screen so that I can shoot in different aspect ratios and know what I will have to crop in post.

 

I've tried putting jpg images on the card but the camera says that it can'y open them. Has anyone found a solution please?

 

Thank you so much,

 

Jon

Highlighted
Honored Contributor
Posts: 5,040
Registered: ‎06-25-2014

Re: Transferring Photos from Mac to 5d mkii

Wouldn't it be a lot more straightforward to just measure the cropping positions on the screen masks? Nothing more complicated than 4th-grade math is involved.

Bob
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 3,467
Registered: ‎02-17-2016

Re: Transferring Photos from Mac to 5d mkii

I suggest you do your editing in DPP since it can make a JPEG the camera cannot understand. The camera is not guaranteed to understand any other flavor of JPEG.

Honored Contributor
Posts: 5,919
Registered: ‎11-13-2012

Re: Transferring Photos from Mac to 5d mkii

Give Canon a call at 1-800-OK-CANON to be sure, but I do not think it is possible to upload a JPEG and view it in camera. (At least I couldn't make it work when I tried for a friend.)

John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X, Rebel T5i, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, MX472, LRCC Classic
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-12-2017

Re: Transferring Photos from Mac to 5d mkii

Thanks Bob, as the screen on the 5d is quite small compared to the final film I was hoping to be as accurate as possible. I'll take your advice and get my ruler out.

Thanks again, Jon

New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-12-2017

Re: Transferring Photos from Mac to 5d mkii

Thanks for the reply, I'll try it out Smiley Happy

New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-12-2017

Re: Transferring Photos from Mac to 5d mkii

Thanks John, appreciate the reply. Could be something that Magic Lantern can do. If not I might try a hotshoe LCD. All the best, Jon Smiley Happy

Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 3,467
Registered: ‎02-17-2016

Re: Transferring Photos from Mac to 5d mkii

Just create a 3x4 (ratio, not size!) poster and mask that and shoot it.

 

Use something like this:

http://www.bobatkins.com/photography/technical/lens_sharpness.html

 

and you can check your lenses, too.

powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement