cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Tips for taking photos of meteor shower?

ilzho
Rising Star

Hello:

I am thinking of trying to take pictures for the Perseid Meteor Shower.

I have never done this before so I am reading tips online, but I thought I would ask if you all have any suggestions.

I have a tripod, cable release, only one battery, 2 memory cards in camera, 17-55mm lens, 7d mark ii, bulb function, focus to infinity.

I shouldn't have any neighbor's lighting as I am back up against woods and my back yard is far enough away from neighboring houses.

It will be trial and error, but I want to learn how to do it.

8 REPLIES 8

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend

Hello,

I suppose one could simply take photos of the stars in the night sky, just as you normally would.  Do a search for " astrophotography " on these forums, and on the web. 

It works best with a wide angle lens, one with an equivalent focal length of 20mm, or less.  I have begun experimenting with a Rokinon 14mm lens on my full frame EOS 6D.  Wide lenses allow you to capture longer exposures without star trails.

http://www.cnn.com/2016/08/10/health/perseid-meteor-shower-2016-irpt/index.html

According to the above article, the peak time for meteor activity will be the morning of August 12 between midnight and sunrise.

--------------------------------------------------------
"The right mouse button is your friend."

ebiggs1
Legend
Legend

Long exposure and hope for the best!  Smiley Happy High ISOs and open apertures.

The meteors will seem to originate from the constellation Perseus so I would aim the tripod mounted camera there.  You need to watch how long your exposures are so you don't get star trails on everything.  It depends on you focal length how long an exposure can be.

EB
EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and less lenses then before!

@ebiggs1 wrote:

Long exposure and hope for the best!  Smiley Happy High ISOs and open apertures.