cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Tilt Shift Lens Tutorial Videos

CraigRoberts
Apprentice
I'm a pro landscape photographer and have a YouTube Channel showing videos that I do in and around the UK offering tips and technique advice. Some of the videos online show me revealing the benefits of the Canon 24TSE lens and more importantly how to use it! Here is the link to one of those videos, shot on the Yorkshire coast in the UK. I hope its proves useful for anyone interested in purchasing one of these lenses. https://youtu.be/V4Ss2BMBU6M
18 REPLIES 18

Thanks. I'm not "having a go" at anyone in particular. It just seems that there are a lot of assumptions made and when we are new to a piece of technology, trying to get accurate information for one particular aspect of that technology is very hard to achieve.

I'll keep lookingSmiley Frustrated

Not a video, but here's an article that may be helpful:  https://luminous-landscape.com/focusing-tilt-shift-lenses/

I have yet to find a decent video.  I generally find (a) the "miniature" effect, or (b) someone who explains how to maximize the focus but explains the concept while not providing the steps to follow to achieve the results.

When I noticed the the index marks on the tilt-angle and verified that those marks are, in fact, degrees of tilt, I realized their *must* be a reason that the lens makers mark the degrees ... so I went in search of a formula.  That was a less-straight-forward search than I would have expected.  Originally I found articles that just hinted around at it.  I ultimately found enough info that I was able to derive the formula and then did a bit of testing to make sure it worked.  I eventually did find articles that gave the formula and confirmed that I what I found was correct.