cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Thick dark cloudy line, rare but in some indoor photos

Westmittenphoto
Apprentice

I'm a wedding and portrait photographer and have noticed in certian indoor locations I get these thick dark cloudy looking lines/ areas of in my photos. I'm wondering if there is a setting that is making this an issue, or the fact that I use the lens mount adapter and use my older L lenses and some sigma lenses, or something else. The photo below is not one that I would have kept anyway, but the issue i'm talking about is very visible right down the middle. Sometimes that dark area is off to the side, but its always about that big. If anyone has insite into this issue, please let me know! It is pretty rare, but it makes me nervous enough to debate getting rid of both of my EOS R's since weddings can't be reshot. I appreciate any help I can get. issue.jpg

9 REPLIES 9

Ray-uk
Whiz

Difficult to tell from that shot, could be a shutter issue. Were you using HSS flash or available artificial lighting?

I was just using the ambient lighting in the room no flash or any other lighting set up. I have two EOS R's and both produced photos like this on and off in this room though out the night. 

Is that perhaps what flicker looks like from the LED bulbs? I've never experienced it so I don't know. 

John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X Mark III, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, Pixma TR8620a, LR Classic

Could have been artificial light flicker, all mains lighting is flickering all the time but our eyes cannot see it, some modern LED mains bulbs flicker at a very fast fate which can cause odd photo problems. Has the R got a flicker detect setting in the menu, a lot of cameras now have it.

@Westmittenphoto wrote:

I was just using the ambient lighting in the room no flash or any other lighting set up. I have two EOS R's and both produced photos like this on and off in this room though out the night.