Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Highlighted
SJH
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-28-2018
Accepted Solution

Tethering a 10D?

Hi

My dad gave me his 10D for me to use to shoot my textile work. Is it possible to tether it to my 2013 MacBook Pro?

If so - what would I need and where could I find it?

Thanks in advance

S.
Reputable Contributor
Posts: 683
Registered: ‎12-24-2013

Re: Tethering a 10D?

[ Edited ]

Canon “EOS Utility” can tether your 10D.  

 

You will need the full version that normally comes on a disc. I have read that the “Updater” that is on the various download sites might include the full version. 

 

Try downloading it here:  https://www.usa.canon.com/internet/portal/us/home/support/details/cameras/support-dslr/eos-10d/eos-1...

 

If it doesn’t work, do a google search for:

  “Install Canon camera software without the CD What to do if you’ve lost your original CD”

 

 

More info here:  http://www.northlight-images.co.uk/install-canon-camera-software-without-cd/

Mike Sowsun
S110, SL1, 80D, 5D Mk III
Honored Contributor
Posts: 7,870
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: Tethering a 10D?


@SJH wrote:
Hi

My dad gave me his 10D for me to use to shoot my textile work. Is it possible to tether it to my 2013 MacBook Pro?

If so - what would I need and where could I find it?

Thanks in advance

S.

In theory you should be able to tether the camera, but I suspect that you cannot.  The only mentions I see of remote control in the manual are referring to a remote shutter cable, not remote shooting control via a PC.  

 

The camera also seems to lack a “Live View” shooting mode on the rear LCD screen.  So far, every body I have seen that is capable of remote shooting is also capable of Live View shooting.  Maybe it is just coincidence.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
VIP
Posts: 10,920
Registered: ‎12-07-2012

Re: Tethering a 10D?

" Is it possible to tether it to my 2013 MacBook Pro?"

 

In a word I would say, no.  But there may be some way of doing it.  Not easily I suspect.  I don't think even LR will do it.

EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV, even less and less other stuff.
SJH
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-28-2018

Re: Tethering a 10D?

Thank you all for the feedback and recommendations.
Product Expert
Product Expert
Posts: 810
Registered: ‎10-17-2012

Re: Tethering a 10D?

Hello SJH, 

In short, there is no method or software which can be used to tether the EOS 10D to your MacBook.  We apologize for any inconvenience that this may cause you. 

Did this answer your question? Please click the Accept as Solution button so that others may find the answer as well.
SJH
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-28-2018

Re: Tethering a 10D?

Not to worry - was a hope. Thank you all!!
powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement