cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Sunrise photo!

cleansensor
Contributor

Hello evryone,

I am using Canon 5D mark 3 for Photography I just started shooting. What is the best setting for sunrise and Sunset?

Thank you,

Mu.

25 REPLIES 25

@ebiggs1 wrote:

Of course the correct answer is 'bracket'.  Bracketing is your friend.  Your camera can do 3 or 5 bracked exposuers in fractions of a second.

Negative.  I would not bracket a shot of first light at sunrise.

Bracketing will alter your exposure settings.  I captured first light with the camera in continuous shooting mode, and the settings were fixed in Manual shooting mode.  The scene bracketed itself.  

You do not need to alter exposure settings to capture first light, just fast reflexes and a remote shutter cable.  In fact, I had dialed in -2 Ev exposure compensation.

--------------------------------------------------------
"The right mouse button is your friend."

"Negative.  I would not bracket a shot of first light at sunrise."

That is your opinion and wrong again.  But you are probably used to that by now.

"Bracketing will alter your exposure settings."

That is the idea !

EB
EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and less lenses then before!

@ebiggs1 wrote:

"Negative.  I would not bracket a shot of first light at sunrise."

That is your opinion and wrong again.  But you are probably used to that by now.

"Bracketing will alter your exposure settings."

That is the idea !

My opinion, based upon my experience.  But, your opinion is not fact, either. 

Shooting at “first light” is a very different scenario, which you are obviously not familiar with.  The scene changes by several Ev in less than a second.  You should try it sometime, and enlighten yourself.