Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎09-13-2018

Some Newb Questions - 6D Mk II

Greetings!!

 

After 40+ years in another system, I decided to shake things up a bit and move 100% to Canon.  So far, so good. I'm really impressed with the 6D Mk II and find it to produce images far better than I was led to believe by so-called Internet experts!!

 

I do have a couple of newbie questions, and I'm sure there will be many more to come as I learn this new system!!

 

1)  When I look at images in Aperture (yeah, I'm a dinosaur!!), the EXIF data is showing "Manual Focus" for all of my images even though I'm 100% sure I was using Auto Focus.  Although my camera is new, I did save a few $$ by getting high quality used copies of the 24-105 f4 and 70-200 f4.  Just want to make sure that nothing is wrong with this showing up in the EXIF.  (The images themselves are tack sharp so I'm sure the AF was actually working.)

 

2)  I do sometimes like to use bracketing for HDR images.  I usually use a three shot set -2, 0, +2.  Is there a way to save that setting somewhere to make it easier/quicker to engage vs using the Menu on the touch screen?  My previous camera had a +/- button that engaged that sequence quickly and I am missing that.

 

Those are my most buring "issues" so far ... Smiley Happy

 

I am sure there will be more!

 

Thanks in advance...

 

Ken

 

 

 

Livin' in the Great Northwest!!
Canon 6D Mk II, 24-105 f4, 70-200 f4
Honored Contributor
Posts: 5,908
Registered: ‎11-13-2012

Re: Some Newb Questions - 6D Mk II

Page 510 of the manual (if you don't have the PDF manual download it from Canon site)

 

I think you should be able to set up the C1 or C2 function to save your AEB setting.

John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X, Rebel T5i, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, MX472, LRCC Classic
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 3,461
Registered: ‎02-17-2016

Re: Some Newb Questions - 6D Mk II

Aperture is not by Canon and it may not understand all the EXIF data, though Apple tried their best. Try DPP.

Respected Contributor
Posts: 1,066
Registered: ‎11-19-2017

Re: Some Newb Questions - 6D Mk II



@jrhoffman75 wrote:

Page 510 of the manual (if you don't have the PDF manual download it from Canon site)

 

I think you should be able to set up the C1 or C2 function to save your AEB setting.




@kvbarkley wrote:

Aperture is not by Canon and it may not understand all the EXIF data, though Apple tried their best. Try DPP.


 Agree with both recommendations.  Try Custom settings menu for desired bumps in exposure and use DPP to get proper EXIF data from your photos. 

Rick
Bay Area - CA
~6D2 (f/w 1.0.4) ~16-35mm f2.8L II, 50 f1.8 STM, 85 prime USM, 70-200 f2.8L IS II ~70-300 USM II ~Sigma 24-70 f2.8 Art (f/w 2.02)
~Sigma 150-600 C + TC1401 1.4x (f/w 2.00) ~Speedlite 430 EX II ~DxO PhotoLab Elite ~Windows10 Pro1903 ~EVGA RTX 2080 FTW3 Ultra
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎09-13-2018

Re: Some Newb Questions - 6D Mk II

[ Edited ]

Thanks for the help!! Turns out ... #1 (lens data) does show up OK in Canon's software so all's well. I was worried something may be wrong with the lens ... it's not.

#2 Good suggestions ... and I also found the exposure slider on the "Q" button can also be used to set the AEB. Doesn't seem to be able to be "saved" to make the process quicker, but it is a lot shorter than I was trying before!!

Gotta say ... when I was shopping for cameras, the 6D2 got a lot of negative comments on IQ. I say ... bunk!! I'm getting terrific images that are clearly equal to my previous camera (D750).

Cheers!!

Ken

Livin' in the Great Northwest!!
Canon 6D Mk II, 24-105 f4, 70-200 f4
Honored Contributor
Posts: 5,908
Registered: ‎11-13-2012

Re: Some Newb Questions - 6D Mk II

Check your manual. There may be an option for AEB to be “sticky” or cancel after three shots.
John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X, Rebel T5i, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, MX472, LRCC Classic
VIP
Posts: 8,461
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: Some Newb Questions - 6D Mk II


@kenstjohn wrote:

Thanks for the help!! Turns out ... #1 (lens data) does show up OK in Canon's software so all's well. I was worried something may be wrong with the lens ... it's not.

#2 Good suggestions ... and I also found the exposure slider on the "Q" button can also be used to set the AEB. Doesn't seem to be able to be "saved" to make the process quicker, but it is a lot shorter than I was trying before!!

Cheers!!

Ken


Are you looking for AEB, or AEC?  Automatic Exposure Bracketing, or Automatic Exposure Compensation?  

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
Highlighted
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎09-13-2018

Re: Some Newb Questions - 6D Mk II

I’m using AEB. Exposure bracketing. For eventuL merging as HDR. I’ve looked at the HDR in camera and think I prefer the post processing solution to the in camera version.

Ken
Livin' in the Great Northwest!!
Canon 6D Mk II, 24-105 f4, 70-200 f4
powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement