cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Sigma/80D Focus Problem?? (Long)

imageAllan
Apprentice

New to forum, first post:

I have been shooting with my 80D for a couple of years but lately I have been submitting to Shutterstock.  You're probably aware of their requirments for technical excellence and it sort of smarts to get photos rejected.  On the postive side it forces you to become a better photographer or at least better technician. 

Lately I have been getting photos rejected for "Main subject not in focus" reasons.  I try hard to hold sharp focus with proper settings and camera technique but I still get rejections from time to time.  I don't always agree with them but lately I've become concerned that maybe my photos are really not as sharp as they could be.  It's become an obsession as now I'm pixel peeping to the extreme.  I recently purchased a Sigma 18-35 f1.8 Art series lens with the intent of getting photos just a tad sharper than my Canon collection.  I'm aware of this lens' reputation for missing focus sometimes but it still is considered a sharp performer.  Still, I'm not completely satisfied that I'm getting tack sharp photos from the Sigma hooked to my 80D.

Attached is a test photo I took today.  It shows green moss growing on the fascia of an old barn.  I took the photo handheld at 1/100, f3.5, ISO 100, zoomed to 35mm.  I was just few feet from the moss and used single spot AF, Live View, and a 2 sec. timer shutter release.  I used the taught camera strap technique to stablize the camera since there is no IS in the Sigma.

I was expecting the moss zoomed in at 1:1 to be super tack sharp with individual strands well defined but it looks more dithered and smudged than I would like.  The photo was taken RAW then processed and sharpened in DPP.  The red square is the approximate single shot AF square indicated in DPP.