cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Shutter Count for Canon6D

blues
Apprentice

Hi  there!!

I am newbie here, recently bought my Canon 6D . Wondering a smart way to find the shutter count. 

Any help?

Thanks

Blues.

18 REPLIES 18

I use Magic lantern. Some people may think it is risky.

but isn't this pulling data from the exif details on the photo, which can change if the camera is reset or it does not use continous count.

@rjtyler wrote:

but isn't this pulling data from the exif details on the photo, which can change if the camera is reset or it does not use continous count.

No, which is exactly why Canon does not include in the EXIF data.  The count is stored somewhere within the camera.  Third party apps claim to be able to read the internal count, but they modify the camera's firmware to do so.  Most of them do not capture accurate counts, and some of them disable seldomly used features within the cameras.

If you want an accurate count along with a bill of the clean health, let Canon do annual maintenance on the camera.  Just make sure to ask them for a shutter count before hand.

--------------------------------------------------------
"The right mouse button is your friend."

The bottom line is you can't rely on the count from any source except Canon.  It makes shutter count meaningless.  But some people are satisfied with a number, any number.

EB
EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and less lenses then before!

TCampbell
Elite
Elite

Canon doesn't provide a built-in way to view the shutter count... nor do they include a utility that displays the shutter count.  It's always a 3rd party method that has to be used to see it.

I use a utility called "ShutterCount" available for Macs (via Mac "App Store").  I think it was $2.99 USD.