Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Highlighted
VIP
Posts: 9,201
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: Shutter Count for Canon6D

[ Edited ]

I figure one easy way to keep track of shutter count is by not using custom file names.  The camera does a good job of numbering the files from 0000 to 9999.  Once it rolls over, then I know I have 10,000 shots under my belt.  I plan to count the number of times that it rolls over.

 

But, the problem with doing that is that it doesn't take into account time, how much time has the shutter spent opened up.  For example, how many seconds of video has been shot with the camera?  I don't know, and don't know how to find out, except by keeping track in a small database that i built.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"Doctor told me to get out and walk, so I bought a Canon."
Highlighted
Reputable Contributor
Posts: 809
Registered: ‎11-14-2012

Re: Shutter Count for Canon6D

[ Edited ]

The movment of the shutter and the mirror is what will kill them. If it happens it happens, if it so happens at 2000 exposures or 300000 exposures.

DCS 3c, DCS 520, D30, D60, 1Ds, 300D, 30D, 1000D IR, 7D, 6D, 6D, M5
15-45/3.5-6.3 IS, 16-35/4 IS, 22/2, 24/1.4 II, 24-105/4 IS, 50/1.4, 85/1.8, 100/2.8, 70-200/2.8 IS II, 300/2.8 IS
Highlighted
VIP
Posts: 9,201
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: Shutter Count for Canon6D

[ Edited ]

@Peter wrote:

The movment of the shutter and the mirror is what will kill them. If it happens it happens, if it so happens at 2000 exposures or 300000 exposures.


Really.  That begs the question, so what drives the movement?  Yeah, cycling kills lots of stuff.

 

I would imagine that top-of-the-line models do not employ the same type of systems to mvoe the shutters as entry level cameras, and likewise for the middle of the line.  Coils can heat up, and will always eventually short out when their insulation wears away. 

 

The longer a coil is energized, the more heat it generates..  I would expect that energy is expended holding the shutter open for extended periods.  And, the literature warns about the cameras getting warm when shooting video.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"Doctor told me to get out and walk, so I bought a Canon."
Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-20-2016

Re: Shutter Count for Canon6D

You seem to know what you are talking about. How do you find a shutter count for a canon 60d? I just bought a new canon 6d so I want to sell my two canon 60d's
Highlighted
VIP
Posts: 9,201
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: Shutter Count for Canon6D


@hmikelson wrote:
You seem to know what you are talking about. How do you find a shutter count for a canon 60d? I just bought a new canon 6d so I want to sell my two canon 60d's

Who me?  HA HA HA.  I just know a LOT about electronics, in general, and digital hardware, in particular.  Your question constantly pops up at least once a month.  There seem to be as many answers as there are inquisitive people looking for the answer. 

 

The only sure fire way that I am aware of is to send the camera into Canon, and let them tell you.  I know it costs money, but having a recent clean bill of health on the cameras from Canon could make them more valuable to sell.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"Doctor told me to get out and walk, so I bought a Canon."
Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-20-2016

Re: Shutter Count for Canon6D

Ok thank you!
Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-18-2020

Re: Shutter Count for Canon6D

but isn't this pulling data from the exif details on the photo, which can change if the camera is reset or it does not use continous count.

Highlighted
VIP
Posts: 9,201
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: Shutter Count for Canon6D


@rjtyler wrote:

but isn't this pulling data from the exif details on the photo, which can change if the camera is reset or it does not use continous count.


No, which is exactly why Canon does not include in the EXIF data.  The count is stored somewhere within the camera.  Third party apps claim to be able to read the internal count, but they modify the camera's firmware to do so.  Most of them do not capture accurate counts, and some of them disable seldomly used features within the cameras.

 

If you want an accurate count along with a bill of the clean health, let Canon do annual maintenance on the camera.  Just make sure to ask them for a shutter count before hand.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"Doctor told me to get out and walk, so I bought a Canon."
Highlighted
VIP
Posts: 12,252
Registered: ‎12-07-2012

Re: Shutter Count for Canon6D

The bottom line is you can't rely on the count from any source except Canon.  It makes shutter count meaningless.  But some people are satisfied with a number, any number.

EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and several lenses!
powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement