Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-23-2014

Shutter Count for Canon6D

Hi  there!!

 

I am newbie here, recently bought my Canon 6D . Wondering a smart way to find the shutter count. 

 

 

Any help?

 

Thanks

Blues.

Respected Contributor
Posts: 1,735
Registered: ‎02-28-2013

Re: Shutter Count for Canon6D

There are several different third party programs that can tell you what it thinks the shutter count is (there is some debate to accuracy).  Some programs are free, some are not.  One such software would be the aptly named ShutterCount.  No idea if that's a free program or not.  Magic Lantern is free, and I know there's a program used in Astrophotography that can do it that's also free.  You can check there.

Reputable Contributor
Posts: 842
Registered: ‎03-06-2013

Re: Shutter Count for Canon6D

Camera can go wrong in 1000 shutter actuation and it can work fine at 100,000. So if you cannot find it, don't be too hard on yourself. Smiley Happy

 

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Weekend Travelers Blog | Eastern Sierra Fall Color Guide
Honored Contributor
Posts: 5,646
Registered: ‎11-13-2012

Re: Shutter Count for Canon6D

Right. Unless you are buying or selling its a case of "It is what it is". Knowing the number won't avoid anything.

John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X, Rebel T5i, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, MX472, LRCC Classic
Valued Contributor
Posts: 425
Registered: ‎01-19-2014

Re: Shutter Count for Canon6D


@blues wrote:

Hi  there!!

 

I am newbie here, recently bought my Canon 6D . Wondering a smart way to find the shutter count. 

 

 

Any help?

 

Thanks

Blues.


You could pick 3 different programs to "read" 3 shutter counts and then average the result. That would be "smart". JK :-)

 

I always check my camera when I buy refurbished cause I want a low count. I haven't been disappointed yet.

Respected Contributor
Posts: 1,735
Registered: ‎02-28-2013

Re: Shutter Count for Canon6D


@cale_kat wrote:

You could pick 3 different programs to "read" 3 shutter counts and then average the result. That would be "smart". JK :-)

 

I always check my camera when I buy refurbished cause I want a low count. I haven't been disappointed yet.


It's been my understanding that they all get the data from the same source, so they will all either be correct or incorrect.  That said, I haven't really paid attention to it, because as noted above, it really doesn't impact me unless I'm buying/selling used, and even then it's of limited value.

Reputable Contributor
Posts: 737
Registered: ‎11-14-2012

Re: Shutter Count for Canon6D

I use Magic lantern. Some people may think it is risky.

---------------------------------------------------------
My Swedish blog

M5, 7D, 6D, D30, 300D, 30D, 1000D IR, EOS DCS 3c, EOS D2000, 16-35/4L IS, 100/2,8 Macro, 70-200/2,8L IS II, 24-105/4L, 85/1,8, 50/1,4, 24/1,4L II, 300/2,8L IS, Helios 58/2

Darktable, RawTherapee, Photomatix, Luminance HDR, GIMP 2.10.6.
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 3,805
Registered: ‎06-11-2013

Re: Shutter Count for Canon6D

Canon doesn't provide a built-in way to view the shutter count... nor do they include a utility that displays the shutter count.  It's always a 3rd party method that has to be used to see it.

 

I use a utility called "ShutterCount" available for Macs (via Mac "App Store").  I think it was $2.99 USD.

 

There is one caveat about the 6D.  If WiFi is enabled then it blocks the apps ability to read the shutter count via USB cable... you'll need to disable the WiFi before using it (this also applies to the 70D.)

 

Tim Campbell
5D III, 5D IV, 60Da
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-23-2014

Re: Shutter Count for Canon6D

Thanks for the Responses. I am not worries about the count but just curios to find out. I will do some search and try with a 3rd party app.

 

Blues

Highlighted
Frequent Contributor
Posts: 78
Registered: ‎11-11-2012

Re: Shutter Count for Canon6D

Canon keep the software that determine the actual auction count only to themseleves and had it always. I remember a decade or so back, the only way to find out that number was to ask Canon's repair center. Buy the way, this is a free service if you send your camera for any reason to them so don't forget to ask for it as it will be revealed to owner, upon request.

 

Avoind that paid nasty software. It is written by a money griddy provider whose sole purpose is to get your money. Software has limitations and is only usable to one camera you first used it for. So if you have 10 camera bodies or need to just randomly check each potential camera you want to buy, you need to pay separatedly for each.

 

There are many other free softwares out there that do a good and reliable count. There was one that was extremely easy to use with a good review on youtube but because it was offered from a server located in Iran, was removed from the face web for the obvious reasons and I wish I have a back up of that one. Anyhow there are plenety of free softwares and make sure you don't pay for gimmicks. And last words, if you need the most reliable count, ask it directly form Canon's repair service (For free) when you send you camera for anyother reason.

powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement