cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Shooting at raw mode, appears as jpeg when transferred to computer.

alessanoir
Apprentice

I in need of serious help.

I am shooting with a canon eos 6d, on Av mode. I choose the raw mode before I started shooting, but when I transferred to my computer, all were jpeg. 

How can I solve this problem.

Thank you in advance

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend

Of course, double check that you're shooting RAW, and only RAW. The fact that you're using Av mode should not make any difference.  Are you trying to transfer files wirelessly, or via USB? 

What type of computer are you using?  I think I've seen threads where MAC users are complaining about file sizes of their JPEGs.  Apparently, something in some Apple's software may resize the image files downward.

--------------------------------------------------------
"The right mouse button is your friend."

View solution in original post

What software are you using? Apple Photos? Photos (and Aperture and iPhoto) do NOT make any changes to the images downloaded from the camera. 

If you are shooting in RAW + JPEG, Photos will show only the JPEG by default, but the RAW is still there. If that's the case and you want to use the RAW image instead, choose the image, edit the image, then right-click on the image while in edit mode and choose "Use RAW as Original".

View solution in original post

16 REPLIES 16

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend

Of course, double check that you're shooting RAW, and only RAW. The fact that you're using Av mode should not make any difference.  Are you trying to transfer files wirelessly, or via USB? 

What type of computer are you using?  I think I've seen threads where MAC users are complaining about file sizes of their JPEGs.  Apparently, something in some Apple's software may resize the image files downward.

--------------------------------------------------------
"The right mouse button is your friend."