cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Seeing the readout through the eyepiece is difficult on my 50D. Will the eyepiece extender help?

dean_nash
Apprentice
I am a legally blind photographer. I have severe tunnel vision. I have a hard time seeing the settings through the eyebpiece on my EOS 50D. Will the eyenpiece exterder help me? Is there a canon body that is better with high eyepoint? I want to move on to a 5D markIII butbI am afraid that I will experience the same problems. I sure miss my F3HP.
My thick glasses sure dont help the situation much. Any help woukd be very appreciated.
7 REPLIES 7

Skirball
Authority

Not sure if a viewfinder enlarger will help or not.  They're not very expensive, give it a go.  You could also try a diopter adjustment lens and not use glasses, but of course you wouldn't be able to chimp.

Also not sure if the larger viewfinder in a full frame would be benificial or not considering your tunnel vision.  I'd definitely try one before buying.

But now that you mention it, I guess I don't really look at the setting in the viewfinder that much.  I'm mostly on the back LCD, though I'm transitioning to the top display now that I have one.

Thanks for your reply. You are correct that I shoukd order and try it. I am so old school. I love shooting in Manual mode and I keep my eye to the eyepiece. Old habits are hard to break. I do have trouble with glare on the LCD back screen though. Have you tried a viewfinder eye piece that puts a hood around the LCD screen?

I haven't, but I've never really had too much trouble seeing the LCD.  I'm new school I guess, I chimp constantly and I'm always checking my histogram.  Probably why I don't use the figures in the viewfinder. 

I should spend some time learning some new school methods like using the histogram. I think this woukd help not having so much post production lightroom work.
Here again I sure miss the magic of film. thanks for your reply and insights.