Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎03-03-2019

Rode not working with 80d

Newbie here.  I hooked up my Rode lavalier mic to my 80d for first time and it’s not recording sound at all.  I have pushed it all the way in based on an online tip (that was scary) with no success.  I have confirmed the mic is working fine with my iPhone.  What am I missing?

Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 3,608
Registered: ‎11-19-2017

Re: Rode not working with 80d

[ Edited ]

External mics have to be enabled in the camera's settings.

 

If the mic requires external power, it might not be supported.

~Rick
Bay Area - CA
~6D2(v1.1.0) ~Many Lenses ~DxO PhotoLab Elite ~Windows10 Pro ~EVGA RTX 2080 FTW3 Ultra ~ImageClass MF644Cdw
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎03-03-2019

Re: Rode not working with 80d

Thanks, Rick.  I’ve watched videos online and poured through the manual and can’t find anywhere that references this.  Can you help?  

 

When I plug in the mic, it knows it’s there because it stops recording from the internal mic and shows that the wind filter has been turned off.  But when I watch the audio levels in the settings, nothing.  I’ve even tried watching the video on my computer, hoping the ghost audio might show up, but nothing,  

 

I’ve got to be missing something!

VIP
Posts: 11,987
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: Rode not working with 80d


@Avandewater1 wrote:

Newbie here.  I hooked up my Rode lavalier mic to my 80d for first time and it’s not recording sound at all.  I have pushed it all the way in based on an online tip (that was scary) with no success.  I have confirmed the mic is working fine with my iPhone.  What am I missing?



Exactly which Rode microphone are you using?
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"Doctor told me to get out and walk, so I bought a Canon."
VIP
Posts: 11,987
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: Rode not working with 80d


@Avandewater1 wrote:

Thanks, Rick.  I’ve watched videos online and poured through the manual and can’t find anywhere that references this.  Can you help?  

 

When I plug in the mic, it knows it’s there because it stops recording from the internal mic and shows that the wind filter has been turned off.  But when I watch the audio levels in the settings, nothing.  I’ve even tried watching the video on my computer, hoping the ghost audio might show up, but nothing,  

 

I’ve got to be missing something!


See page 313.  Download a copy of the instruction manual, and search for the word “microphone.”

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"Doctor told me to get out and walk, so I bought a Canon."
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎03-03-2019

Re: Rode not working with 80d

Yes, I’ve looked through the manual in depth but don’t see anything about enabling an external mic as mentioned above.  The page you mentioned just says it is compatible with microphones with a 3.5 mm plug.  

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎03-03-2019

Re: Rode not working with 80d

The Rode lavalier. 

VIP
Posts: 11,987
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: Rode not working with 80d


@Avandewater1 wrote:

Yes, I’ve looked through the manual in depth but don’t see anything about enabling an external mic as mentioned above.  The page you mentioned just says it is compatible with microphones with a 3.5 mm plug.  


Did you see the notes at the bottom of the page?

 

5F57DB4C-4369-4C3F-8CFD-55A062A9049B.jpeg

 

I think that is where you could enable sound recording.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"Doctor told me to get out and walk, so I bought a Canon."
VIP
Posts: 11,987
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: Rode not working with 80d

[ Edited ]

@Avandewater1 wrote:

The Rode lavalier. 


That reply does not say much.  Rode makes at least four “lavallier” microphones.  

 

https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/1059342-REG/rode_smartlav_smart_lav_lav_mic_for.html

 

The one made for iPhones and Apple devices would be incorrect model.  It uses a TRRS connector.

 

https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/1012003-REG/rode_videomic_go_videomic_go_on_camera_shotgun.ht...

 

You want a microphone with a TRS connector, like the one microphone packaged in “Video Creator Kits.”

 

[EDIT]. I think all you need is the Rode SC3 adapter, but do check with Canon Support.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"Doctor told me to get out and walk, so I bought a Canon."
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎03-03-2019

Re: Rode not working with 80d

Thank you!  And sorry, I only saw one lavalier on the Rode site and it was the one I have.  I appreciate your help!

powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement