cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Recommendations for a new camera

chogan
Apprentice

Hi all, I need some assitance in selecting a new SLR for a company I work for.

A little bit of background information first. I'm primarily a web/graphic designer with some photography experience. I took 3 semesters of photography in college and currently own a Rebel Xti with two prime lenses and a YN565EX Flash. My camera does pretty good considering it's age and spec range but it's not quite going to make the cut for a project we're working on. 

The company I work for builds web applications and websites for government clients. The project I'm on is for an internal website (sub company) and we plan on using all custom photos. The 'boss' doesn't like stock photography. Problem is, we need a camera that's going to hit the quality of stock photography. 

Budget: I'm not completely aware of the budget, I just know it's going on the company credit card. I'm guessing around $2-3 grand. 

Awarenss: I've read across other forums that just getting a new fancy camera won't automatically give you super awesome photos. Good glass and lighting kits make a big difference. Hopefully my Flash will work on whatever camera we end up purchasing.. 

Cameras I'm looking at:

EOS 6D

EOS 7D

EOS 70D

We're hoping to make a purchase quite possibly this week. And again, I don't claim to be a master photographer but I'm not afraid to get my hands dirty with an SLR. I feel like operting SLR's are a lot like driving stick. Once you get it, you can operate just about any of them. 

8 REPLIES 8

Skirball
Authority

What kind of photography are you planning on doing?  Landscape, architectural, macro, etc?

Probably not what you want to hear, but I agree with what you read on other forums:  a fancy new camera won’t necessarily make the photography better.