cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Recent photos NOT saved or unavailable

carloslijeron
Contributor

Hi all !

Something very bizarre happened to me yesterday, 11/24/19.   I used my 5D Mark IV camera with a CF card that has information from early this year.  The memory card is only at 10% capacity, so I started shooting my son's birthday.   I shot another event 3 days ago in my son's school

When attemptint to use LIghtroom to import new files, the software did not find any new photos.  I went to the file system and indeed verified that this was the case.   Where did the photos go? I saw them and share some of them with the kids on both events, so I know there were captured.

I am now running  a recovery software to see if I can recover those images.

Has anyone has had any similar situation?

BTW: Bitdefender was scanning the memory in the background when I was also attempting to import into Lightroom, but I doubt this has anything to do with this.

Any ideas fellow photographers?

Thanks.

CL

11 REPLIES 11

ebiggs1
Legend
Legend

On a Windows machine use Explorer to see if the photos are really there. I am sure Mac has some equivalent.  It is possible to see a image in the LCD and not be saved. If the photos are not there, there is no recovery possible.

"I used my 5D Mark IV camera with a CF card that has information from early this year."

Never use a CF card for photo storage.  Always format it before a big shoot.

EB
EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and less lenses then before!

Thanks for your message.  My workflow is to take photos and right away import them into Lightroom. I happen to have several shoots on my current CF Card, all which appear intact until 11/20/19.  The 2 entire shoots after that are gone.

I tried recovery tools which can preview the images and restore the files, but they cannot open in either Windows or MAC  using multiple applications.