cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Rebel T3 to 70D

jdundas
Contributor

Hello, thanks in advance for your input if you decide to read and reply. 

I currently have a rebel t3, an EFS 18-55mm 4.5, and an EFS 55-250mm lense. It has been a great first DSLR, but I feel greatly held back by the setup. I have been shooting for 4 years now and have come a long way and feel that an upgrade in either lenses or a body (OR BOTH) would improve my photos. I am getting into timelapse and hyperlapse photography as well as some filming too. I am looking for crisper, higher quality images and I just feel like the T3 is holding me back of my potential. 

Would going from the T3 to a 70D be a nice upgrade? I also need this to be affordable. I figured I could sell my in perfect condition T3 for 150-200 and buy a referbished or new 70D for 700-800. Or, is would there be a different body you guys would recommend? Would it even make sense to sell the lenses too and start fresh with new lenses?

I appreciate your inpute,

Jeff

28 REPLIES 28

ebiggs1
Legend
Legend

I am going with Robert's suggestion of the Canon EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8 IS USM Lens as a first choice.  You can't go wrong with it.  But I do think the Rebel T3 to be a pretty limited body.  A great solution would be a T6i and the Canon EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8 IS USM Lens.  Most of the time lenses are where it's at. They are what make the picture. Not the camera.

"I could sell my in perfect condition T3 for 150-200"  Yes, a good idea.  Get somebody else started in the hobby. Smiley Happy Also sell the lenses you have, "EFS 18-55mm 4.5, and an EFS 55-250mm", too.

Better camera deserves better lenses. Right?

Now about the 50mm f1.8.  i wouldn't buy one.  Primes offer little and are very specialized now.  Zooms are nearly as sharp and far more versatile.  The 50 does offer a little more than a stop in aperture.  That's about it though.