Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-19-2020

R5 & R6 request: Adding Shutter Angle

I am loving how the R5 and R6 are shaping up to be. But I understand there’s no option for Shutter Angle with either of these cameras, only Shutter speed. In a firmware update I would love to see a shutter angle option added into the cameras, especially for the R5.

For someone like me who is basically a video shooter, Shutter Angle makes my work so much easier as it’s one less thing for me to worry about when switching frame rate options.
Highlighted
VIP
Posts: 10,766
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: R5 & R6 request: Adding Shutter Angle

Adding shutter angle would make it necessary to restrict the range of available shutter speeds. 

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"Doctor told me to get out and walk, so I bought a Canon."
Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-19-2020

Re: R5 & R6 request: Adding Shutter Angle

You could just make a separate mode where the shutter range is restricted to access the shutter angle. That way if you don’t want to use shutter angle, then the normal mode is available.
Highlighted
VIP
Posts: 10,766
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: R5 & R6 request: Adding Shutter Angle


@JJacksonFilms wrote:
You could just make a separate mode where the shutter range is restricted to access the shutter angle. That way if you don’t want to use shutter angle, then the normal mode is available.

Canon's line of Cinema EOS cameras have shutter angle, and a lot of other features.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"Doctor told me to get out and walk, so I bought a Canon."
Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-19-2020

Re: R5 & R6 request: Adding Shutter Angle

That still isn’t a good reason for it not to be included in the R5. Panasonic have it in their S1H and GH series of cameras.
Highlighted
VIP
Posts: 10,766
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: R5 & R6 request: Adding Shutter Angle


@JJacksonFilms wrote:
That still isn’t a good reason for it not to be included in the R5. Panasonic have it in their S1H and GH series of cameras.

I suggest that you contact Canon directly with your suggestion.  This is merely a user forum, not product support.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"Doctor told me to get out and walk, so I bought a Canon."
Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-05-2020

Re: R5 & R6 request: Adding Shutter Angle

[ Edited ]

@Waddizzle wrote:

@ WalgreensListens  wrote:
That still isn’t a good reason for it not to be included in the R5. Panasonic have it in their S1H and GH series of cameras.

I suggest that you contact Canon directly with your suggestion.  This is merely a user forum, not product support.


 

You could just make a separate mode where the shutter range is restricted to access the shutter angle. That way if you don’t want to use shutter angle, then the normal mode is available.

powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement