cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

R5: Need advice on CFexpress cards vs SD

C0dename_SM0KEY
Contributor

I have a few questions:

a) I've never used a CFexpress card before. In the past, I've just had multiple SD cards, but in this case, would you recommend that I set the primary card as CFexpress and backup as SD? Or should I do the opposite? I'll be shooting 90% stills, but I know the R5 is a beast so...I'm not sure which to go with here.

b) Originally, the plan was 1x CFe + 2x SD, but maybe I should do the reverse: 2x CFe + 1x SD? 

c) Is there a major difference between CFe Type A vs B?

d) Could someone recommend a decent combo card reader (preferably USB-C) that won't break the bank? The camera already broke the bank. 

7 REPLIES 7

Lotus7
Rising Star

A popular set up if you're mostly shooting stills is to save RAW files and video to the CF Express Card and jpegs (in parallel) to the SDHC or SDXC card.  Not all CF Express cards are fast enough to allow video recording at the 8K-29.97fps or 4K-59.94fps settings.  I have several sizes of cards but typically keep a 256GB CF Express and a 64 GB SDXC card in the camera.

I have a couple of CF Express USB-C readers  and have found the Rocketek RT-CR316 to be extremely fast, cool running (metal case) and to be reliable. The best CF Express readers seem to be CF Express only.  There are plenty of inexpensive combo readers that work with SD cards, but if you want the best performance, you will probably wind up with a dedicated CF Express Type-B card reader.

Re: Type A or B.  They are completely different physical formats.  The R5 uses Type-B cards only.  A Type-A  card won't fit an R5.