Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
VIP
Posts: 11,657
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: R5 MANUAL FOCUS ISSUE: Won't save focal distance after shutdown or sleep

[ Edited ]

@FloridaDrafter wrote:

@Waddizzle wrote:

"Good luck.  You're correct.  I have no idea what you have been describing.  I think that it should be impossible for a lens to refocus when the AF/MF switch is set to MF.  But, you're saying that it refocuses."

What I gathered is, as his main complaint, he can't get the R5 to auto focus on a hummingbird when using a remote trigger and his conclusion is that the AF in the R5 isn't working properly. Then, to remedy that, he is trying to pre-focus on a spot manually (lens in manual mode) where he thinks the bird might be at some point. So at some time, after pre-focusing the lens, the R5 goes to sleep or powers off while he is waiting. Then when his target appears he wakes tha R5, takes the shot with his RT, and manual focus has been re-set, i.e., his target area is no longer in focus and all he gets is a blurry shot.

 


"CRUX OF THE MATTER: The entire point of the exercise is not to have to stand there and refocus every time the camera is turned back on."

 

The OP clearly states that the main isssue is the focus changing when the camera powers up.  The simplest solution is to switch the AF/MF lens switch to MF to manually focus the lens, which I have assumed was being done.  Maybe not.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"Doctor told me to get out and walk, so I bought a Canon."
Super Contributor
Posts: 198
Registered: ‎09-01-2014

Re: R5 MANUAL FOCUS ISSUE: Won't save focal distance after shutdown or sleep

[ Edited ]

@Waddizzle wrote:

"The OP clearly states that the main isssue is the focus changing when the camera powers up.  The simplest solution is to switch the AF/MF lens switch to MF to manually focus the lens, which I have assumed was being done.  Maybe not."

 

I think he has several issues, but that is his try at resolving the first issue, see 2nd paragraph of his OP:

 

"As they are fast, darting creatures, the AF setitngs on the R5 have been useless. I have now resorted to manually focusing on a spot where they seem to hover over the feeder before plunging in."

 

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎04-18-2021

Re: R5 MANUAL FOCUS ISSUE: Won't save focal distance after shutdown or sleep

Yes. Smiley Happy That is exactly correct.  To the letter!  Thank you.  Thank you.  And nice images!

 

Shooting wild life, time lapse, or any such similar situation, the camera will go to sleep after a certain period of time while you are waiting for the "right moment." As anyone who shoots wildlife knows, wildlife is skittish.  You just don't stand in front of your camera waiting for (who knows how long) for something to happen so you can push the shutter button on the camera.  That's why they make remotes.

 

Therefore, the issues remain:

1) With a 5d MKIII, I set the camera up, pre-focus manually - and just so no one makes a wrong assumption, the lens is set to "M" - and when the bird, squirrel, woodpeckers, mountain lion, bear or what have you comes along and I am a safe (or, depending on the critter, very safe) distance away, I push the button on the remote and the 5dMKIII wakes up, takes a photo, focused on exactly the same spot where I last focused it before it went to sleep.

 

2) The same lens on the R5 in the same situation with the same settings on the same tripod turns out wildly blurred out of focus.

 

3) Therefore, it is not the lens, it is the camera.

 

Having said that, the cause of the problem then can only be one of four things:

 

a) the lens is broken.  (But it is not as per working fine above and, previously, the same issue is with all my EF and R lenses on the R5)  Eliminating that then, three remain:

 

b) there's a bug in the camera circuitry or software;

 

c) the Canon engineers just didn't even think about this and there is no function to preserve Manual Focus settings, thus proving once again Ansel Adam's famous dictum;

 

d) there is a setting or group of settings among the thousands of combinations of settings in the camera you must use and if you don't, the default causes the camera to defocus upon waking and there is absolutley no information on that in the manuals (or at this point, it seems, on the web.)

 

Now you, FloridaDrafter, seem to be saying that your R5 does retain its focus, in the above situations,  so that would lead me to believe "d" above is the issue, and you have apparently obtained the secret sauce... I gratefully in advance ask then, what are your settings?  

 

Thanking you again, and in advance...

 

PS: Attached are two images.  These I would have to say were "lucky" (I have a bunch of "lucky" shots, but I'd prefer to be deliberate rather than lucky...) although the first image suffers from a lack of sharpness due to focus issues.2103262067is Hummingbirds One on top of Beak.jpg2104080090is Port Ludlow Hummingbird (Green).jpg

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎04-18-2021

Re: R5 MANUAL FOCUS ISSUE: Won't save focal distance after shutdown or sleep

"The OP clearly states that the main isssue is the focus changing when the camera powers up. .  The simplest solution is to switch the AF/MF lens switch to MF to manually focus the lens, which I have assumed was being done.  Maybe not."

 

 

Sir, you are still not grasping the issue. FloridaDrifter re-phrased and re-explained it well.   Please throw "AF" out of your thinking.  This discussion is strictly about MF issues.  

 

Manual Focus is exactly what is being done ONCE.   Then after a while, the camera goes to sleep because nothing is happening.  Then something starts happening and I trigger the remote to start shooting.  And when the camera wakes up I am not near the camera because I'm shooting remotely so it is not possible to "just go refocus it." That's the whole entire point!! The lens, once manually set, should STAY at the exact focus point where you left it when the camera wakes up after going to sleep, or even if you turn the camera off and come back 5 hours later and turn it on again. But it doesn't. That is the entire point: it should.

 

I just can't explain it any more or in any other way.  My apologies.  

 

FloridaDrafter seems to have a combination of settings, shooting in the exact same environment I am, that keeps the camera from changing the manual focus upon waking. I am anxious to learn those settings, as Canon has nothing in the manuals about this issue/problem.

 

Super Contributor
Posts: 198
Registered: ‎09-01-2014

Re: R5 MANUAL FOCUS ISSUE: Won't save focal distance after shutdown or sleep


@garymak1 wrote:

"Yes. Smiley Happy That is exactly correct.  To the letter!  Thank you.  Thank you.  And nice images!"

 

Thank you, Gary.

 

"c) the Canon engineers just didn't even think about this and there is no function to preserve Manual Focus settings, thus proving once again Ansel Adam's famous dictum"

 

My wife and I were talking about this topic, and we believe this is probably the answer. Maybe to be fixed in a future firmware update. But you have to admit, it's not a feature that people are clamoring for. However, it makes you wonder why it works that way in a DSLR and not a MILC?

 

"Now you, FloridaDrafter, seem to be saying that your R5 does retain its focus, in the above situations,  so that would lead me to believe "d" above is the issue, and you have apparently obtained the secret sauce... I gratefully in advance ask then, what are your settings? "

 

I think you misread my comment. I have the R6, which I tested for loss of focus after switching off and it failed the test, i.e. lost manual focus after switching off, and the 5D mark IV and 7D mark II, also tested and passed as they retained manual focus position after switching off/on. Sorry you got your hopes up.

 

Original quote from me:

"Now, my DSLR's do retain manual focus on an object when switched off then back on, like if you are on a tripod, manually focus on a subject, then turn your DSLR off. When you turn it back on, that subject will still be in focus, just like you left it. With our R6, if you do that, focus is re-set to minimum focus distance and not where you left it. I know this because of this post and it's not something I would do or have ever needed to do, just to be clear."

 

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎04-18-2021

Re: R5 MANUAL FOCUS ISSUE: Won't save focal distance after shutdown or sleep


@FloridaDrafter wrote:

"c) the Canon engineers just didn't even think about this and there is no function to preserve Manual Focus settings, thus proving once again Ansel Adam's famous dictum"

 

My wife and I were talking about this topic, and we believe this is probably the answer. Maybe to be fixed in a future firmware update. But you have to admit, it's not a feature that people are clamoring for. However, it makes you wonder why it works that way in a DSLR and not a MILC?

 

Smiley Sad Ugh! No! I was hoping for "d"!!!  Smiley Sad  

 

However, I respectfully take issue with calling this a "feature."  I don't think this should be called a "feature."  It is a "missing expected function."  

 

By way of humorous example: imagine you bought a brand new deluxe hi-tech car, and the salesmen goes over all the new features, you like them, you sign the papers and drive off.  Then you try to put the AM station on to listen to a game being broadcast only to find it doesn't have AM radio... Would you write to the company and say "I'd like to suggest a new feature in your next model car - AM radio."? Of course not.  You'd probably raise a fuss about it, and even if there was a good reason, still be uset that nobody thought to mention it, or include it in the manual.  It is assumed from almost 100 years of automobile manufacturing that if it has a radio, it will have "AM."   And it is assumed that if it doesn't, they'll point this out since it's fundamental to a car radio.  For nearly 100 years of cameras, you set the focus manually and there it stays until you change it yourself again (or switch out of manual mode if the case of AF.)  To suddenly eliminate that function, well, I think it's the same as buying a car and finding out later it doesn't have AM radio and nobody tells you about it and the manufacturer doesn't even mention it in the owners manual....

 

(*BTW, buy a Tesla and try to turn on the AM station on the radio... Smiley Wink Smiley Wink  )

 

"Now you, FloridaDrafter, seem to be saying that your R5 does retain its focus, in the above situations,  so that would lead me to believe "d" above is the issue, and you have apparently obtained the secret sauce... I gratefully in advance ask then, what are your settings? "

 

I think you misread my comment. I have the R6, which I tested for loss of focus after switching off and it failed the test, i.e. lost manual focus after switching off, and the 5D mark IV and 7D mark II, also tested and passed as they retained manual focus position after switching off/on. Sorry you got your hopes up.

 

Smiley SadDurn! Yes, I did misread and thought you had an R5.  Sigh. However, at least now it seems it's an "R" issue as that's more info.  So, neither the R5 or R6 funtions properly then.  That's useful info.  Thanks.

 

WELL, I will call Canon directly Tuesday and get a straight answer I hope.  I will report back here.  Thanks to all who tried to figure it out!!  If it is a bug, well, remember, you heard it here first! Smiley Very Happy

 


 

Super Contributor
Posts: 198
Registered: ‎09-01-2014

Re: R5 MANUAL FOCUS ISSUE: Won't save focal distance after shutdown or sleep

[ Edited ]

@garymak1 wrote:

 FloridaDrafter seems to have a combination of settings, shooting in the exact same environment I am, that keeps the camera from changing the manual focus upon waking. I am anxious to learn those settings, as Canon has nothing in the manuals about this issue/problem.

 


Well I'll be damned, Gary. I have your answer! I just tested this on the R6:

 

Go to Item 4 of the Orange menu set (just past the wrench) "Retract lens on power off" Disable that.

 

That's the ticket.... Thank you, I'll be here all week, and don't forget to tip your waitress Smiley Happy

 

I think someone mentioned that earlier, but it somehow got brushed aside, johniccp to be exact!

 

Newton

Super Contributor
Posts: 198
Registered: ‎09-01-2014

Re: R5 MANUAL FOCUS ISSUE: Won't save focal distance after shutdown or sleep


@johniccp wrote:

On my R5, in the Menu, C.Fn4, there is an option to “Retract lens on power off.”  

I disabled the feature and then focused on the object furthest away.  Power off.

i move the lens barrel to point at an object close to me.  Power on.  At this point, i heard a clunk as the lens motors moved to focus at a new distance.

 

disclaimers:  i’m inside, you were outside.  I used an RF 70-200.   I’m using shutter priority.  

 

Hth (hope this helps)


Good call... You nailed it!

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎04-18-2021

Re: R5 MANUAL FOCUS ISSUE: Won't save focal distance after shutdown or sleep

Screen Shot 2021-05-09 at 8.17.03 PM.png

 

Yup! I just tried 3 different lenses - 2EF and 1RF lens - focused manually, then I shut the camera off, turned it back on, and it was focused on the exact spot as when I shut it off. 

 

As per Christoph Walz's famous line in Inglorious Basterds, "That's a bingo!"  I'll look back at the thread as I seem to recall that too, but it seemed to be related to something else. In any event, that's the solution!  Thanks to all who paticipated and cam eup with this solution.  What a weird inscrutable meaning title of a function though.  Reading page 829 in the advanced users manual, one would have no idea this is related to this subject, or really to what it was really talking even in reference to some issue with "gear-type STM lenses." Why/how this would be related to this problem?

 

In any event, problem solved.  Now I'll make some notes in the PDF for next time.

 

Thanks very much to everyone!!!!!!

 

Super Contributor
Posts: 198
Registered: ‎09-01-2014

Re: R5 MANUAL FOCUS ISSUE: Won't save focal distance after shutdown or sleep

[ Edited ]

@garymak1

 


Gary, I started thinking, which usually makes my head hurt, and realized that when turning off the power, it was pulling focus to its minimum. That made me think of "lens retraction" as a reason.

powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement