Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-08-2021

Re: R5 Built-in Mic Pops / Popping

I've had the same problem. Support suggested turning off wifi.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎06-07-2021

Re: R5 Built-in Mic Pops / Popping

I tried turning off the WiFi, even turned on the Airplane Mode. No help.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎06-08-2021

Re: R5 Built-in Mic Pops / Popping

My wifi is not on. Going to exchange tonight for a new one, and we will see what happens. If that one does it too, it is definitely a flaw of some kind that Canon needs to address. I doubt it is software but who knows.
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎06-08-2021

Re: R5 Built-in Mic Pops / Popping

By the way, what resolution/frame rate is everyone using when this happens? I am doing 4k60fps.

New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-08-2021

Re: R5 Built-in Mic Pops / Popping

I was doing 4k 30 fps. I usually would get one pop max, near the beginning of the video. Didn't try turning off wifi until today, we'll see if that does anything.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎06-08-2021

Re: R5 Built-in Mic Pops / Popping

Also, it may have been happening two years ago with the RP. One of my videos definitely has it only on the left channel. I need to check out the other one later. Here's the post from dpreview.com about the RP. No follow-up saying if it was ever resolved:
https://www.dpreview.com/forums/thread/4379269
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎06-07-2021

Re: R5 Built-in Mic Pops / Popping

I use 1080p 60fps. I'll try my new copy tonight.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎06-08-2021

Re: R5 Built-in Mic Pops / Popping

If the new unit has firmware 1.2, then maybe stay with that. What firmware were you both using when the pops happened? I updated to 1.3.1 right when I got the camera, so if it's related to that, I'm sticking with 1.2 if I do the exchange.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎06-07-2021

Re: R5 Built-in Mic Pops / Popping

My current one was 1.1.1, and I updated it to 1.3.1. No difference, lol.

New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-06-2020

Re: R5 Built-in Mic Pops / Popping

I wasn't able to find a work around for the issue. It happened at all resolution settings and with various lenses. I don't beleive it happened when using an external microphone like a rode mic. Anyways I returned the camera to Amazon and waited a few months for my replacement (there were supply issues during Q4 2020). The new camera has been working fine without issue, no pops recorded when using the built in mic. I'd recommend returning it for an exchange.

powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement