cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Question re R5 Exposure (Viewfinder vs What I See Directly in Room)

R5Man
Apprentice

Hello all. New to this forum.  I'm a beginner to intermediate photographer.  I noticed something with my new R5.  I'll try to explain this carefully.  Using the 24-70 f2.8 lens.

Everything works great, but in low light inside I noticed the following.  I'm in a gray colored office with one celing light.  Just testing the camear and learning the controls.  With indoor light at night when I look into the viewfinder with the exposure set to "0" on the sliding scale (in Auto or Manual mode), I see a much brighter room than what I see with my own eyes looking around.  It's as if the camera had a light shining on the room.  I brought down the viewfinder brightness some, but that's not the only issue.  Same issues on my digital flip screen.  When I take a photo it's very bright relative to the actual room.  If I'm setting the f stop and shutter speed such that the exposure meter shows "0", why is the photo not represent what I see in the room?  It looks great, don't get me wrong, but it's not what the room looks like.  If I'm in manual mode, I need to change the f stop or shutter speed to reduce the exposure to almost -2 on the scale to get the image I'm seeing with my own eyes.  The photo then looks almost exactly like the room.

I read there is something about the exposure meter using a part of the gray color spectrum to determine exposure and it will be bright sometimes, so maybe it's the room I'm in.  But I have this issue pretty much in all indoor, low light conditions.

I would have thought what I see through the viewfinder is the same as the room so I can make decisions on how to capture light.  As a beginner do I have to look around my environement and adjust exposure above or below "0" to capture what I see if that's what I'm looking to accomplish?