cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Question on Canon EOS R

jefldean84
Apprentice

Hi all, first post here. I’ll start saying I’m not a pro photographer so maybe my questions might sound somewhat ignorant (because I am in this field, still).

I have an old Nikon D3100 and would like to upgrade. I’ve always heard about Canon’s awesome colors and dual-pixel focus and I’ve seen some videos and they look great so, I think I’d like to move to Canon.

My requirements are:

• mostly for filming and streaming but also enthusiast photography

• flip screen (so I can monitor myself while recording)

• clean HDMI or USB out to computer with no time limit

• can film 1080p or 4K at 24fps with dual-pixel focus

• can film for about 15-30 mins at a time with no overheating

• budget is 1300-1500 USD for the body

Based on what I’ve read, it seems like the only one that fits my requirements is the “not so new” Canon EOS R (I was looking into the RP but I didn’t like that its 4K capabilities were so limited).

I’ve been reading and “it seems” like a new version/replacement for the Canon R will come this year however, I imagine the price is going to be closer to 2K, at least at launch and for a while, which would disqualify it based on my requirements.

So, appealing to you experience with this brand, my question(s) are:

• Do you think the Canon R replacement will come this year?

• At what price do you think the replacement will launch? Would it be close to 2K (as the R itself was at launch)?

• How does the R perform for you in lo-wish light conditions? (Not pitch dark but like in a living room with a soft lamp in a corner). It seems to do okay from some (probably sponsored!) YouTube videos so I’d like to know your opinions

• I know the R has some shortcomings (cropped 4K) but, in general, how have you found it so far for beginner use?