Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎02-19-2018

Problems with flash sync

[ Edited ]

Hey guys,

 

Happy Monday Smiley Happy

 

I have a Canon 6D and a Canon Speedlight 580 (works great when on camera - no problems at all)

 

I am now trying to set up a make-do studio situation and am using an 'iShoot' trigger and receiver for the flash.

 

I have it all set up and when I attach the trigger to my camera and click the 'test' button (on the actual trigger), everything fires and syncs great...so I know the trigger and receiver and flash are all working together. However, my camera is not reading or receiving data from the flash, so when I press the shutter on the camera, the flash doesn't go off.

 

Does anyone know what I am doing wrong? 

 

I have attached a few photos to help explain what is going on - and a video here 

https://www.dropbox.com/sh/q6szv5iol0irjs3/AAB_ssYfeeRIzo69DmRYgeINa?dl=0

 

THANK YOU

 

Natasa

 

 

IMG-5150.JPGIMG-5151.JPGIMG-5152.JPGIMG-5153.JPG

Valued Contributor
Posts: 383
Registered: ‎10-21-2016

Re: Problems with flash sync

Your pictures are too small to be able read the on-camera messages but I would guess you are trying to use a simple manual only trigger that doesn't send or receive flash data while the camera is in ETTL mode.

Check the manual for your flash trigger to see if it can actually do ETTL.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎02-19-2018

Re: Problems with flash sync

oops so sorry! first time posting and didn't realise you can't click to enlarge a photo! will change now. thanks!! 

 

So I need to be in ETTL mode? 

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎02-19-2018

Re: Problems with flash sync

oops so sorry! first time posting and didn't realise you can't click to enlarge a photo! will change now. thanks!!



So I need to be in ETTL mode?
Reputable Contributor
Posts: 745
Registered: ‎12-24-2013

Re: Problems with flash sync

[ Edited ]

The flash should fire , even if it is in ETTL. 

 

The only thing that will cause it not to fire is using Liveview. Are you using Liveview?

 

If you are, you can go into the 6D menu and disable “Silent Shooting” and this will allow the flash trigger to fire in Liveview.

Mike Sowsun
S110, SL1, 80D, 5D Mk III
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎02-19-2018

Re: Problems with flash sync

[ Edited ]

This is what all the forums have been saying but I dont use LiveView so I thought it may be something else. 

 

 

Reputable Contributor
Posts: 745
Registered: ‎12-24-2013

Re: Problems with flash sync

I would then make sure the trigger and receiver batteries are fresh. Also try it on another camera. 

Mike Sowsun
S110, SL1, 80D, 5D Mk III
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎02-19-2018

Re: Problems with flash sync

It is pretty frustrating! Just changed all the batteries and same thing. Tried M and ETTL.

I have take a video just incase it is something SO simple that I am totally missing it:

https://www.dropbox.com/sh/q6szv5iol0irjs3/AAB_ssYfeeRIzo69DmRYgeINa?dl=0

 

Highlighted
Reputable Contributor
Posts: 745
Registered: ‎12-24-2013

Re: Problems with flash sync

[ Edited ]

Why is there 2 click sounds in the “working” video?

 

It looks like you have to press the test button twice in order to make it fire. 

 

 

 

Mike Sowsun
S110, SL1, 80D, 5D Mk III
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎02-19-2018

Re: Problems with flash sync

I had just fired it so it wasn't ready when I first clicked it

powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement