Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-09-2019

Please help!

Hi,

I shot a friend's wedding last week with a rented 5D iv with a 24-70 2.8. After importing files to lightroom i noticed this effect on a lot of the pictures. They looked fine on the camera and when opened in lightroom first they appear fine but aftrer a few secs this appears. Does anyone know what's going on? Any chance of recovering/fixing the issue?2B2A0904.jpg

Valued Contributor
Posts: 479
Registered: ‎01-25-2018

Re: Please help!

Do you still have the card with the original files?  Save them and download Canon DPP software and see how they look in it; I suspect they will be fine.

 

I always shoot in RAW and use the excellent RAW converter in DPP to "process" the files before sending them to Adobe.

 

What camera have you used in the past to create files for lightroom?  Your computer (CPU, memory availability, graphics card, etc.) may be having an issue with the much larger files created by the 5D IV compared to some less capable DSLR models.

 

Rodger

 

 

EOS 1DX M2, 1DX, 1D M2, EOS 650 (film), many lenses, XF400 video
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 2,328
Registered: ‎11-14-2012

Re: Please help!

I don't use Lightroom but like most software you may not have an update which includes properly reading the files from the 5D4. Check which version you have & see if there's an update available. (this assumes you aren't using an on line version).

"A skill is developed through constant practice with a passion to improve, not bought."
Reputable Contributor
Posts: 774
Registered: ‎11-19-2017

Re: Please help!

I believe this is going to be related to hardware.  Are you downloading straight from the camera, or are you using a card reader? 

Rick
Bay Area - CA
~6D2 (f/w 1.0.4) ~16-35mm f2.8L II, 50 f1.8 STM, 85 prime USM, 70-200 f2.8L IS II ~70-300 USM II ~Sigma 24-70 f2.8 Art (f/w 2.02)
~Sigma 150-600 C + TC1401 1.4x (f/w 2.00) ~Speedlite 430 EX II ~DxO PhotoLab Elite ~Windows10 Pro1903 ~nVidia GPU
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-09-2019

Re: Please help!

hi shadowsports, i used a card reader
Honored Contributor
Posts: 7,881
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: Please help!


@uam225 wrote:
hi shadowsports, i used a card reader

Between a bad sensor, bad software, or a bad memory card, something is wrong.  What version of Lightroom and ACR are you running?

What do the RAW images look like in Canon’s DPP?  What does a JPG look like when you create in the camera?

 

What brand and model of memory card(s) were you using?  Did you format it in the camera prior to first use?

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-09-2019

Re: Please help!

hi Waddizzle, im using Lighroom Classic 8.3.1 and ACR 11.3
The pictures look the same in all softwares. Tried Canon DPP, photoshop... The JPG rendition on the camera looked fine, on lightroom they seem ok for a few moments while it loads and then goes like this.
The memory card was Lexar Pro 1066 256GB. I did format before shooting.

Thanks for taking the time to ask.
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 3,231
Registered: ‎02-17-2016

Re: Please help!

[ Edited ]

It looks fine for a few moments because it is showing the embedded preview. It appears your RAW data is corrupted.

Honored Contributor
Posts: 7,881
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: Please help!


@uam225 wrote:
hi Waddizzle, im using Lighroom Classic 8.3.1 and ACR 11.3
The pictures look the same in all softwares. Tried Canon DPP, photoshop... The JPG rendition on the camera looked fine, on lightroom they seem ok for a few moments while it loads and then goes like this.
The memory card was Lexar Pro 1066 256GB. I did format before shooting.

Thanks for taking the time to ask.

I do not know if you are describing a CF card, an SD card, or a micro-SD card.  Plus, there are variations on the performance of memory card.  

 

017912FE-D27A-44BD-AEA8-61D200140EE2.jpeg

 

From the 5D4 Instruction Manual. 

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 4,897
Registered: ‎06-25-2014

Re: Please help!


@uam225 wrote:
hi Waddizzle, im using Lighroom Classic 8.3.1 and ACR 11.3
The pictures look the same in all softwares. Tried Canon DPP, photoshop... The JPG rendition on the camera looked fine, on lightroom they seem ok for a few moments while it loads and then goes like this.
The memory card was Lexar Pro 1066 256GB. I did format before shooting.

Thanks for taking the time to ask.

I've used Lexar Professional cards for years and never had a problem. But at this stage of the game, I would avoid any 256GB card. Whenever you're pushing the envelope of size, speed, or whatever, you increase the probability of tripping over an unknown firmware bug or file system peculiarity. The alleged benefit isn't worth the risk.

 

Or as Alexander Pope put it three centuries ago:

"Be not the first by whom the new are tried

 Nor yet the last to lay the old aside."

Bob
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA
powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement