Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-24-2019

Pistol Grip for 60D

Trying to use a pistol grip on my 60D, when I attach the remote cord the camera starts making a noise like it is trying to focus but can't and when I try to shoot from the pistol grip I get nothing.  Anyone ever used the pistol grip?

Reputable Contributor
Posts: 691
Registered: ‎12-24-2013

Re: Pistol Grip for 60D

[ Edited ]

It sounds like your pistol grip is broken or not connected properly. 

 

Is is it new? Have you used it successfully before?

 

Does it have the proper E3 connection?

AACC1D17-98DC-4FC3-9550-2A70603469CF.jpeg

 

Mike Sowsun
S110, SL1, 80D, 5D Mk III
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-24-2019

Re: Pistol Grip for 60D

It is new, I believe I have the proper cord and I have never used it yet.  Once attached the only thing that happens is camera makes the noise like it is trying to focus constant clikcing noise and no power at the trigger.  Of course there were no directions either and I have googled and found very limited information.    Is there a particular setting I have to be on to use the pistol grip?

 

Reputable Contributor
Posts: 691
Registered: ‎12-24-2013

Re: Pistol Grip for 60D

[ Edited ]

There is no setting for wired remote control. The pistol grip is just another type of remote control shutter switch. It seems like your pistol grip has an electrical short or jammed switch. 

 

Plugging in the remote cable should do nothing as long as it is plugged into the correct remote shutter terminal. 

Clipboard01.jpg

Mike Sowsun
S110, SL1, 80D, 5D Mk III
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 4,951
Registered: ‎06-25-2014

Re: Pistol Grip for 60D


@MikeSowsun wrote:

There is no setting for wired remote control. The pistol grip is just another type of remote control shutter switch. It seems like your pistol grip has an electrical short or jammed switch. 

 

Plugging in the remote cable should do nothing as long as it is plugged into the correct remote shutter terminal. 

Clipboard01.jpg


The remote trigger doesn't begin to fit my definition of a pistol grip. Is everybody talking about the same thing here? Is this "pistol grip" a Canon product or Brand X?

Bob
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA
Reputable Contributor
Posts: 691
Registered: ‎12-24-2013

Re: Pistol Grip for 60D

[ Edited ]

This is what I assumed the original poster was talking about.

 

5A42614D-90A5-43EE-9E65-A68CF33717EE.jpeg

 

Mike Sowsun
S110, SL1, 80D, 5D Mk III
VIP
Posts: 8,038
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: Pistol Grip for 60D

Don’t you need to the shutter drive mode into shutter delay to use a wired remote release?
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
Reputable Contributor
Posts: 691
Registered: ‎12-24-2013

Re: Pistol Grip for 60D

[ Edited ]

No,  as soon as you plug in a wired remote, it will shoot no matter what drive mode is set. 

Mike Sowsun
S110, SL1, 80D, 5D Mk III
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-24-2019

Re: Pistol Grip for 60D

[ Edited ]

You are correct this is exactly what I am tryig to figure out how to use.  My daughter plays softball and having the handle with a trigger release would make it so much better for my wrists!  I am not sure what I am doing wrong but I am not ready to give up yet.

 

powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement